Anticipation Revisitation

EverQuest 2 is about ready  to launch in 2004… quick, let’s renew our EQ account!  WAR is coming… why not revisit DAoC?  BioWare wants to unleash The Old Republic, and Star Wars Galaxies reaps the benefit of thousands of re-uppers looking for a concoction of nostalgia of the past and anticipation for the future.

It shouldn’t surprise me to see how many folks, including prominent bloggers, are returning in droves to City of Heroes, even as they drool hearty techno-lust for Champions Online and DCUO.  We’ve lived long enough that we’re seeing second generations or iterations of MMO franchises all over the place, and a growing method of dealing with the unbearable hype and leadup of new titles is to subscribe to their official or unofficial ancestor.  It’s odd to do so, because we’re not intending to be residents for any significant length of time, setting down roots — we’re injecting ourselves with parts of the experience, hoping that it will satiate or add to our future desire.

We do this a lot in other areas of life, I think.  Superhero movies come out, and we voraciously watch older ones and read the comics.  We marinate in the pop culture of the past to “prepare” ourselves for the upcoming.  We have a terrifically hard time being patient, and this is a way for  a dose of instant gratification.

One thing I’m always delighted to experience and rediscover in City of Heroes is the full liberal freedom of movement — this is a game that doesn’t want to nail your feet to the ground or force you to travel around like a pokey postman, but to provide you with wings and kick you half across the zone for fun.  Combining movement with combat skills can result in some personal moments of awesomeness, such as flying down from the top of a skyscraper, doing a flip 180 to fry a bad guy into oblivion.

In any case, the Champs Online watch goes on.  I am not deterred.

5 thoughts on “Anticipation Revisitation

  1. When WAR was delayed I went back to WoW for a while. I’m sure Blizzard was very happy about that announcement. But then AoC interested me.

  2. That’s exactly what got me into City of Heroes for the first time a week or so ago. Champions Online anticipation.

    And I’m glad I did it. Being a MMO junkie as I am, I’m not sure why I haven’t even tested CoX before. It is such a fun game! Having a great time designing my heroes/villains and also the combat is so much fun, specially in a team.

    I can’t wait for Champions Online to be released. I really wish I were in beta.

  3. I have a strong need for speed — it’s nice not to lumber around like a geriatric camel.

    Maybe it’s because I don’t frequent Atlas Park much, but I haven’t noticed a ridiculous amount of what I call “ADD jumping” in CoX, where you’d think it would run rampant considering how high even the weediest char can jump. ;)

  4. I just got the 14 day free trial of CoX and after beta resting it and leaving for years, the game is awesome now. I never thought I would have fun playing CoX after a bad beta. I can’t wait for CO. I think it will be great.

  5. Heh, I was just trawling around the web drooling for any tidbit of CO info, when I came across this post and it made me laugh – as I’d just been laughing at myself for doing exactly what you are talking about.

    When I first got wind of CO, I wasn’t particularly interested, I was kind of turned off by the screenshots and the description of a rather console-y style of combat, but just a few days ago I checked the website and forums out again, and OMG, it really does look good now!!!

    The thing is, being a burned-out 3 year vet on CoX who hasn’t played it in ages, I was so stoked about CO I just had to get me some of that superhero action – any superhero action! As if playing CoX would somehow bring me closer to my anticipated dream image of what CO is going to be like. But some of the old CoX magic is still there – the combat in CoX is still nonpareil. Being myself also in a current love affair with LOTRO, it’s amazing how slow the combat in LOTRO is, compared to CoX. Still fun and intrictate, but slooooow.

    Anyway, nice blog – have enjoyed reading many other articles here!

Leave a Reply

