Champions: The Rollercoaster Heads Back Up The Hill

rollercoasterWell.  THIS was unexpected — but in a good way.  Some of Bio Break’s readers encouraged me to write to Cryptic to ask for permission to discuss the game, so I did so last night.  Lo and behold, they wrote back promptly:

I’m writing you to let you know that we’d be happy to give you permission to talk about certain aspects of Champions Online on your blog, as long as you only talk about the areas and information that the “press” were allowed access too. They had a limited press account that only had access to character creation, the tutorial zone and the Desert and Canada crisis zones. So if you can contain your discussions on your blog to those areas and information contained within those levels and regions, we’d love to see you write about Champions Online.

Score one for the little guy, I guess — and big props to Cryptic for being open to requests by bloggers!

So here’s the plan — I have a first impressions article in the making, but I’m sure a lot of you have questions, etc., that you’d like answered (as long as it’s within the content outlined above, which is all I’ve played anyway).  Fire away in the comments section and I’ll address what I can tomorrow.  Just a disclaimer: I won’t be able to answer everything, since I haven’t played it for a super long time or at any great length.

By the way, this guy (Steve) added in his e-mail:

Just FYI, I used to follow the WAAAGH! blog when I played Warhammer. Loved it ;)

Small world, eh?

11 thoughts on “Champions: The Rollercoaster Heads Back Up The Hill

  1. Want to talk briefly about the “Canada Crisis Zone”? I didn’t know the game expanded beyond the make believe America-esque universe most super hero genres sit in. :D

  2. Thats awesome! Grats on getting permission to write about it and also Grats on the fact Crytic gave you props on Waaagh! I cant wait to read what you have to say about Champions.

  3. Since I enjoy my pet classes, I’m wondering if there is any equivalent to CoV’s mastermind archtype in CO?

  4. Grats man! Good to know that they do care about the little guys. And it’s always cool to have someone like that acknowledge your work.

  5. As far as questions, I really want you to get in-depth regarding the travel powers, as those are going to be very important to me when making my character.

  6. As a guy in the beta, I’d like to know how long you’ve been in it. Additionally, I’d like to know if your opinion has changed the longer you have been in it, and if you are happy about the way a character “grows”, IE, picking powers and state packages. Get into the numbers part of the game as best you can.

  7. Yay Syp!!!

    Ok, hows the combat feel? It seems like it’s more fast pace and engaging like an action/adventure game rather than the standard mmo 1, 1, 3, 2, etc. (WoW/WAR/CoX). This is of course entirely from what I’ve read.

  8. Pingback: The fairytale of the Champions Online NDA « Welcome to Spinksville!

Leave a Reply

