Roller’s Regret

rerollRoller’s regret is a bit like buyer’s regret, except that I oh-so-cleverly moved it into the realm of MMORPGs.  I feel the pang of roller’s regret every now and then when I look at other classes and have a serious moment or two of doubt and second-guessing — “Should I have played that class instead of this one?  Should I abandon this guy and start over?  Which will make me happiest in the long run?”

I’m sure some people never suffer from this.  You’ve got your folks who pick one class and stick with it, and they’re more than content playing and bonding with that character without a second thought.  Then there’s the altitis crowd who, if struck by RR, go, “Hey, I’ll just make another alt!” and problem solved.  Unfortunately for me, I no longer have the luxury of time to invest in more than one major character per MMO, especially if I want to get him or her to the max level.  So I’ve got to make it count.

For instance, in my recent journey into LOTRO I spent a month and a half with my Lore-Master, fully determined to make that “the one” and not bother with any alts.  Around level 28, I grew weary of the class mechanics and, y’know, dying all the time… and that’s when the Captain came a-callin’.  “Try me!” she said.  “I’m a pet class too!  And I wear heavy armor!  And I can use a big two-handed sword that is in no way compensating for any deficiency on your behalf!”

Thus far, Captain Crunch has proved to be a good decision.  I enjoy combat with her far more than the LM, and feel pretty important in group situations.  Plus, while Captains aren’t rare, they aren’t the FOTM class that Rune-Keepers, Champions and Hunters certainly are.  Why, I haven’t seen a Guardian or Minstrel in ages!   Speaking of Minstrels, I was reading the global chat last night (bastion of wise discussion, that was), and when they started talking about Minstrel instruments, etc, I began to feel the pangs of roller’s regret — I do miss my old (and deleted) Minstrel, and felt the urge to roll one and prove that RK’s aren’t the only way to heal these days.  At least I’d be playing a class that wouldn’t make J.R.R. Tolkien roll in his grave for desecrating his lore.

But I know that if I do that, I’ll essentially be resetting the game clock to zero — I don’t have time to play both.  And I realize that if I had stuck with my LM, I’d be in my 40′s by now, instead of level 27 on my second character.  It takes a heckuva lot of effort to get all the deeds that I’ve put into both these classes, and I don’t relish having to redo yet another one.  Looking ahead, I know that they’re going to be raising the level cap by the end of the year, and I’d surely like to do some Moria content before people move past it for good.

It is nice to see that LOTRO is pretty friendly to the reroller.  Our kinship is chock-full of folks who wouldn’t dream of limiting themselves to just one toon, and that sort of thinking keeps the lower level zones populated.

Do you ever suffer from roller’s regret as well?  Look over and see another class, and do some deep soul-searching as to whether or not you’d be more satisfied with that instead of the wretch you’ve become?

10 thoughts on “Roller’s Regret

  1. Oh heck, do I ever :) But it usually coincides with me getting a bit bored of my first choice. So I do usually get my first pick to max level before the rerolling envy really kicks in.

    Sometimes you just don’t know what you want to do in a game when you start, and it takes awhile before you realise that another class would work better for you.

  2. Interesting article.

    I’m going to be picking up LOTRO this month, and I’m going to try really hard to pick 1 class and play it. I want to try and get away from Altism and playing the numbers game.

    I need to do some research and find an interesting class to play.

  3. Pingback: Raid Update: When the going gets tough … « Welcome to Spinksville!

  4. Funny thing, i´m a big LotR fan but somehow never bought the game, well until now i think i will finaly give it a try! I guess some of your latest posts have something to do with this, i´m not that easly influenceable but still.

    I never had had the r.r. problem in all the mmo´s i played since UO, that only started when i was playing world of warcraft somehow. There i think it was because i tried hard to find something “new and interesting” to keep me playing with my friends. Well in the end it didn´t work out that way.

    However i also keeped that behaviour to some extend in warhammer and rerolled a lot and often had that thoughts you just described.

    I just hope that won´t be the same with LotrO :(

    Doing that too often can seriously destroy the fun in a game, at last in my case.

  5. My highest level character in LOTRO is a 23 captain, and while I like her well enough, I do get the feeling that I’m playing the wrong class sometimes. I’d really like to level a burglar or a minstrel, but they both seem to be support classes.

    I’ve recently gotten each to level 10 and stopped there. As a solo player without a kinship, I don’t know that I’d enjoy playing a class that had trouble soloing. In WAR, I waited until I had a tier 4 character in a great guild before I rolled the shaman I’d always wanted. In WoW, I had a warlock raiding in a great guild before I leveled my holy priest.

    I love playing support characters, but I think I really need the support network first before I roll them.

  6. Yes. I play(ed?) a Shaman in Warhammer and can’t be bothered to roll another toon for too long. Closest I got was a rank 37 Choppa

  7. I’ve occasionally had Roller’s Regret when my initial class choice turns out to not fit my preferred play style (usually because I haven’t researched the game and the class summaries on the character creation page are not accurate), when that happens then I have to bite the bullet and start over. I’ve never had the grass is greener version that can come from min/maxing and tracking numbers. Generally, if I can do well enough to advance in level while soloing and find PUGs when I need them, then I’m good. I do play alts, but it’s normally to try a different class out as a break from my main, check out some different racial content, or for crafting.

  8. Awesome article. It really struck a cord with me. I have rerolling anxiety all of the time and it bugs the hell out of me. I hate starting a character but then getting bored with it after 30 levels and wishing I’d started something else.

    I’d like to start a Paladin in WoW but I’m considering a DK just because I don’t want to go through the entire 1-50 quests and levels again.

    I liked Tabula Rasa’s concept of cloning, letting you go back and start another class without resetting all of the way to 0.

  9. In Ragnarok Online I had a Hunter, but then played my Rogue more. That was my only “rerolling” to date.

    Been sticking to my Rogue in WoW as a main for 3 years now, with several alts though. Since then I brought all classes but 2 to 70 (2 of those to 80) – but they’re just alts with much less playtime.

    Any regrets?
    Only that a Rogue is bad for soloing in some circumstances (old content and elites) and that I find Melee harder than Ranged in most fights (not complaining, but imho Blizzard hardly makes any fights that are annoying for ranged and easy for Melee).

  10. This is why I keep arguing for a classless design, with free anytime respecs (or in town, like GW). Barring that, I’d settle for a free anytime class change with respec.

    Life’s Too Short to indulge my altitis urge, though I wouldn’t complain if I actually *did* have 60 hours in a day and never had to sleep and was independently wealthy.

Leave a Reply

