Favorite Classes of All Time

Brady19-745902Gordon over at We Fly Spitfires threw up an interesting article (hm, maybe “threw up” wasn’t the best verb I could’ve used) talking about his favorite classes over his MMO career.  I’d love to hop on board that train and take it to the next station, so here are my ten favorite classes from my past (and current) MMOs:

1. Hunter (WoW)

Yes, they’re overplayed, underskilled and a cliche for the entire MMO genre — but I still loved mine.  I’ve never experienced a pet class in any other MMO that was as thrilling as WoW’s hunter, which incorporated capturing a pet of your choice (within reason) and training it over your journey together.  In my defense, I never played a Night Elf Hunter.

2. Warlock (WoW)

The original Syp was born as a gnome warlock, a powerhouse experience from 1-73ish when I left her to wither and die in an unsubscribed account.  Despite the utter hatred for warlocks flung at me during my career with Syp (99% of which was due to the PvP fear controversy), I loved having a class that could swap pets when needed, as well as laying down the law… OF DOTS on enemies’ heads.

3. Captain (LOTRO)

I have to say, I’ve found my LOTRO class, and I’m happier for it.  The Captain is a class that’s as near to something perfectly designed for my playstyle as could be without my direct input: hybrid build, can heal, can tank, has a pet, very party friendly, looks pretty sweet through and through.

4. Adventurer (AO)

I think I picked the Adventurer when I played Anarchy Online mostly because I could dual-wield pistols and also heal myself.  I don’t remember much else about the class, but I hear they could transform into dragons (?) at higher levels.

5. Controller (City of Heroes)

The best fun in CoX wasn’t when you were laying down the smack on bad guys, it was when you would tilt your head and go “Oh, I don’t think I’ll allow you to attack us today” and then make good on it.  I loved flinging out about ten different kinds of crowd control powers, on top of using pets.  That was the class that made me feel the most powerful out of all of them.

6. Sorcerer (DDO)

I don’t know if I’ll step back into a sorcerer’s shoes when DDO goes free to play this summer, but I’m tempted.  I liked having more spell casts than wizards (if a smaller pool of spells to choose from), and there’s a lot of pets, crowd control and direct damage builds to choose from.

7. Warrior Priest (WAR)

If anything, I’m sad I left WAR because I never got to see Thursday, my Warrior Priest, all the way to the end of her journey.  Smacking down heretics with a 2H hammer while throwing out heals and all sorts of other funs spells made this (in my opinion) the best healing class in the game.  Plus, the WP’s look is to die for.

8. Engineer (WAR)

Guns, turrets, barbed wire, land mines, AOE napalm, dying constantly… yeah, this was a fun class indeed.  I really wish it was more enjoyable as a rifle class leveling up (although it got a lot more fun when I hit 40 and got rapid fire), but I don’t regret making the engie my class of choice in WAR.

9. Mesmer/Necromancer (Guild Wars)

Crowd control plus pets divided by a saucy look.  Yeah, everything else pales.

10. Druid (WoW)

I guess there’s a lot more druids these days than there used to be, but if I ever had to go back to 2004 and start the game all over again, I think a druid would be my main.  It’s just a blast to have the ability to shift between forms and roles, as well as hitting moonfire and feeling like the mother ship was blasting with orbital lasers at whatever elf you were targeting.

11 thoughts on “Favorite Classes of All Time

  1. I love the WoW Warlock and Guild Wars Necromancer/Mesmer classes, too.

    Interestingly, I always start of with some kind of Paladin warrior type, only to turn to the dark side soon after…^^

  2. Ah the Adventurer. Good choice. My first character in AO was an Adventurer. They were a very fun and versatile class and I loved the shapeshifting forms they got.

    The Warrior Priest in WAR is also an excellent class. I love melee healers. Something about the whole ‘servant of God thing’ but whilst swinging a big hammer in people’s faces :)

    Haven’t played the Captain in LotRO online but they look appealing. I like unique classes that offer something a little different.

  3. I do love the WP in WAR. If I end up staying there past my 10-day trial, I might just get my WP past 13 and start whipping heretic tail again.

    I have gone back to WAR in hopes of finding the most interesting healer to play, and right now it’s either a WP or a Shaman.

  4. My favorite WoW class will always be the shaman. I love my orc shammy, in any spec. I’ll level other characters, but always come back to my shammy.

    When I first started playing WAR, my witch hunter was my favorite, but then when they released choppas/slayers, it just got too frustrating. So I moved her to Vortex when the opportunity arose, and rerolled a destro Sorceress, which quickly became my favorite WAR class. All those little floating numbers from PoS just makes me giggle. And I love watching people trip over themselves trying to kill me. :) I bet BW think the same thing.

    I’m still dinking around in LOTRO trying to find what fits me best. I get to about 20 and decide to try something different.

  5. My Hunter has been my main for 3 years now. I always come back to that awesome dwarf. I’ve never found a game that has done the pet class as well as WOW. I always dread training a new pet but by the end of that grid you real do create a relationship with it

  6. Pingback: MMO Classes That I Hate - We Fly Spitfires - MMORPG Blog

  7. My favorite class of all time was a Jedi in SWG before the NGE game changing update. It was awesome, you were hunted by bounty hunters, and when you finally unlocked your force abilities – greatest sense of achievement I ever had in a MMORPG.

    LOTRO wise – Hobbit Guardian’s are awesome. Nothing like a tank who can feign death!

  8. Pingback: West Karana » Daily Blogroll 6/15 — Just This Once edition

  9. Ahh, good old AO.
    I remember playing a Solider, Agent and Fixer… all were pretty fun. Though my sarcastically bitter comments best suited a class that was dark & shady like the Agent or Fixer.

    For WAR, WP and Engineer were some of my favourite classes too, though there were times I actually got bored of the WP because I felt OP. Like the time I stood in front of Cascades of Thunder and beat on the front door for 30 minutes while simultaneously ignoring the 6 – 9 NPCs that were hammering away at me. Destro showed up about 30 minutes later to witness a very bored WP and a front door 2/3rds bashed down…

    As a credit to you Syp, I would have never played a Dwarf Engineer had I not been following WAAAGH! so religiously before buying a copy of WAR. Ended up being one of my favourite classes (especially after killing 1,400 snotlings to get that damn Battle Brew Backpack… totally worth it though for such a cool look!).

  10. Mmm… hybrids. I’ll heartily second the Captain and Druid (with Shamans as an honorable mention). I also loved my Hunter for the flexibility, both in play and in pet selection.

    I could never play a class that was monotone; these games are already mindless enough.

    As Psychochild noted over at Gordon’s place, though, I’m more of a skill-based player, though. Classes just don’t ring my bell all that much. Let me build my own “class”, and I’m a happy camper.

  11. You hit on two of my favorites, and pretty much the only ones I play, Warlock & Druid in WoW. Good choices, and choices that provide lots of … well… choices! I haven’t played in a breadth of MMOs, but in contrast, I used to play a Paladin in DAoC. What I learned from that is that playing the hand to hand guy is either too hard or too boring.

    I know it’s not considered an MMORPG, but I have to mention it anyways (particularly since I actually treat the games pretty much the same anyways, kill things and get loot, chat with friends): It will take something truly awesome to unseat the Diablo II amazon from my favorite class of all time. Distance, CC of a sort, damage. Love it!

Leave a Reply

