Champions: Yeah, People Actually LIKE The Game. Go Figure.

Here’s a few more detailed impressions/experiences of Champions from my fellow blog-pods:

  • Escape Hatch – “Let me get this out of the way first: I love Champions Online.”
  • A Ding World – “It is a nice game and I have had fun and enjoyed playing it quite a bit so far.”
  • Dragonchasers - Concerning types of skills
  • NecroRogIcon - “It’s like playing a different game once you’re past the tutorials.”
  • We Blog Spitfires – “I don’t know what all of the negativity surrounding the game is about, I actually came away with quite a strong first impression.”
  • Shadow War – “I like the game, there is a whole lot going for it, but I still don’t think it will be a giant success.”
19 thoughts on “Champions: Yeah, People Actually LIKE The Game. Go Figure.

  1. Do you think a lot of the negativity is due to the intro tutorial? I mean, if you’re trying to give a good first impression, I think Cryptic dropped the ball with the extremely boring and “brings-nothing-new-to-the-table” alien invasion thing. I really had no desire to play past level 4.

  2. @ Snafzg – I think so. I agree — it really is a boring tutorial, especially after running it 1 or 2 times. People are going to want to be able to skip it, just like they wanted to with City of Heroes’ Outbreak tutorial, and get to the “good” stuff. The only good part of the tutorial is the public quest, but even that is a bit anticlimactic.

  3. “It’s like playing a different game once you’re past the tutorials.”

    And this is so true!

  4. I do not necessarily think that the tutorial part is bad and the elements included are logical to have there. But if you have played a couple of MMOs before or played through it before, then it will get old quick.

    Tabula Rasa had a tutorial zone which also was fairly good for the first run (although it was solo), but really too long to run through multiple times and not really interesting after you picked up the basics.

    In their case they did have the option to skip it, which Cryptic should also do I think.

  5. 100% agree on the tutorial issue.

    Not just the first tutorial, but the second “crisis zone” tutorial as well. The game really starts at lvl 10 and it’s a real shame to put players through a couple hours of bleh to get to the good stuff.

    At least you get access to the Powerhouse after the first tutorial, but it’s worth noting that there’s always a big crowd in there rather than out in the crisis zone.

  6. @ Syp I agree with the boring tutorial, Ive ran it about 12 times now and Im not looking forward to having to reroll on launch (well I’ll probably sit the first month out anyway).

    Im pretty much done with the open beta, just because I’ve tried out all the powersets and have a good idea of the ones I’ll be using. I could push one of my toons higher but I want to keep the game fresh for release.

  7. Like the part where you go help Defender fight off Black Talon. Halfway through the fight Defender falls to the ground and says “oh noes! you’re going to have to do this yourself!” Then the second you finish off Black Talon, Defender pops back up as spry as can be. and helps you kill more baddies.

    seriously??

    When you don’t put much thought into the opening of the game that EVERYONE will play through…makes me wonder.

  8. My main problem with Champions right now, is the graphics first of all, the instanced world and the combat.

    Graphics look amazing in still shot, just like it was out of a comic book, but while moving it looks horrible. I have everything turned up all the way, and a hell of a machine and it still just looks “off” somehow. I can’t figure out why.

    The highly instanced world is really bothering me. I thought Aion was linear, but it has nothing on Champs. Nothing. I feel like I am playing in a shoe box most of the time and this is outside of the tutorial.

    Finally, the combat just feels to simplistic and action oriented for me. You can REALLY tell that this game is also going to be released on consoles. The depth just isn’t there and it feels more like a simple console game than an MMO, which is fine for what it is, but its not something that I would pay $15 bucks a month for.

    Matter of fact, I think Champions would have been a perfect game to take the Guild Wars model. Not just in the lack of a monthly fee but in game design as well. This combat would be perfect for something like that. Quick, action based combat that has little depth but is a lot of fun in spurts and a heavily instanced world in which you can concentrate on story. Yep, the Guild Wars model would be awesome here.

    I’m going to continue playing it, as I am not playing much Aion while waiting for release, but I just don’t see much of a future with it. It wont be a failure by any means, but it will be a highly niche game.

  9. I’ve been playing it for a while now while doing work for TTH, and while it’s a bit buggy and often times the game lags something awful… I still really enjoy playing it.

    It’s not super deep, it’s easy to pick up and put down, and almost all the powersets seem to be something fun to fudge with. I heart super-jumping too.

    I don’t get much gaming time at all these days, but I’m glad I have to play CO for my work at TTH, and if I didn’t have that job I’d probably still buy a copy.

  10. @ naamah

    ‘Finally, the combat just feels to simplistic and action oriented for me. You can REALLY tell that this game is also going to be released on consoles. The depth just isn’t there and it feels more like a simple console game than an MMO, which is fine for what it is, but its not something that I would pay $15 bucks a month for.’

    As apposed to what? spamming 1,2,3,4 repeat?

    Also your first sentance should read ‘My main problem with Champions right now is it isnt Aion’

  11. I am not sure what I think about this game. I am on the fence about buying it and trying it for a few months. I played CoH for maybe 3-4 months and got a character almost to max level but it started to get boring and repetitive after a while. Although I have only made it to level 7 in the open beta of CO I don’t know if it’s going to be enough to keep me interested.

    Anyone have any experience past level 10? Does the world open up a bit more?

  12. Moop id advise you level your toon past the crisis area, after this you will go to the bigger ‘real’ zones. these house between 100- 160 players and feels alot more ‘open’

    Id also advise a visit to millenium city :)

  13. @naamah88:

    “Nothing. I feel like I am playing in a shoe box most of the time and this is outside of the tutorial.”

    You’re outside the first tutorial, but certainly not out side the second (the “crisis zone”).

    Agree the combat is pretty fast paced, but the character building is really interesting to me. Sorry to self-pimp, but check out the 2nd image on this post: http://dragonchasers.com/2009/08/20/champions-online-corrections/ It is showing maybe 1/6th of the desert past the 2nd tutorial. I’m about a third of the way across the map, obviously high up. and looking back towards Project Greenskin. There’s a huge amount of the zone behind me, and another section as big as this one if I turned about 45 degrees to the right.

    It is still instanced though, with 150 or so players per instance. That almost makes the zones feel too wide open and empty, to me.

  14. Pingback: Syp Says: A Champion’s Taking A Beating

  15. I will admit now after finally getting into the game I really do like it. The problem that I was having were driver issues with my video card. I think I will be getting the 6 month sub now. I can’t wait to get off of work now, so I can play.

  16. I like it, but i’m still on the fence about getting hte 6 month subscription…

    Swinging though? Swinging is awesome.

  17. @ slurms – It was even more awesome for me, he said this at the END of the fight lol. I hit Black Talon ONE more time and then Defender jumped up.

    i lawled.

    As a whole, i am really enjoying the game so far. It runs smooth as butter for me, i like the combat, and the comic book style ( i think im one of the few that even like the comic outlines! =P ).

    Overall, too many games “trap” you in tutorials. Look at LotRo, they started with the single player bit, and once you got threw that, you were in another segregated zone but with other players. If i remember correctly, you could skip the first but not the second part. Only after you were done with both and joined the “open” world could you be invited into a guild, which was very hard to explain to some people who kept asking us for guild invites cos they were “done” the tutorial.
    Im not sure how CO works for guild invites, but it would be nice if you could invite people right from the start so they can feel apart of things, and not segregated or trapped.

    Being able to skip the tutorial would be a big plus, Even if you still had to do the Desert/Canada crisis zones, that would be fine with me. At least there is more then one, and not as dull.

    That was alot of text just to say i agree with the tutorial being a bad first impression for people. Its very generic and dull.
    /nods

  18. Simply said .. I l O V E this game. Same issue with the boring, to long, inimaginative and unscipable intro … I do agree that it contains a lot of info, but on the other side, it’s such an anti-climax compared to the rest of the game. It seems unfinished.

    One example : you rescue Foxbat, He cracks out a joke or two, then asks you to retreive his ammo crate .. and that’s it .. no finale, you don’t even speak to him again.. Basicaly you stole the ping pong gun from him .. very strange.

    Spoiler .. if you jump unto the first crashed ship .. you’ll unlock an exploration perk :)

  19. Quick, action based combat that has little depth but is a lot of fun in spurts and a heavily instanced world in which you can concentrate on story. Yep, the Guild Wars model would be awesome here.

    @Naamah88: If you say that Guild Wars have little depth in its combat then you certainly have missed a few things about it.

    Champions combat is certainly simple in the early part. I do not know if it will stay that way – most MMO games tend to be a bit on the simplistic side at start, but evolve more later. It remains to be seen.

Leave a Reply

