TOR: Beta Mind Trick

Did you stop and hear the cattle “moo” this week, as players across the globe heard that Star Wars: The Old Republic was accepting tester applications, and then stampeded BioWare’s site until it tapped out in the third round?  I can only imagine the look of horror on their server admin, looking down from his HTML fort and seeing a horde of barbarians at the gate:

plague

It was so bad that they had to shut down the site for hours.

Of course, this serves as both validation for BioWare (hey, people are pretty excited about TOR!) and a warning (they’ll be back, and in greater numbers).  I simply cannot imagine what launch day will be like.

For their part, BioWare is playing the semantics game with all this, stressing that people signed up to be testers, sure, but not necessarily beta testers:

“I would like to point out that we are doing Game Testing sign-ups; we have not done any announcements about ‘beta’ testing. As specified in the original article, the Game testing for Star Wars: The Old Republic will be rolled out in several phases over an extended period of time. These test phases will begin with smaller, tightly focused test groups, and later tests will expand.”

Maybe they’re going to test toast?  Who knows.  So for those looking to these signups as verification of an imminent beta… guess you need to settle back down.  Might be some time yet.

4 thoughts on “TOR: Beta Mind Trick

  1. “Of course, this serves as both validation for BioWare (hey, people are pretty excited about TOR!) and a warning (they’ll be back, and in greater numbers).”

    I’m going to for this as the most “clever quote of the month.” I really enjoyed it =D

  2. These Bioware guys are clever. Sean Dahlberg (Bioware CM) was tweeting during the meltdown and there was a decided lack of panic in the tweets.

    I think things happened pretty much as they expected them to.

    Their sign-up tool on the web site is flaky, and I don’t think that is by design but the rest? Very clever.

  3. Great photo, completely distracted me from the article. Penn Jillette FTW.

    I did sign up myself, I’m kinda hoping to get into the Beta at some point, specifically because I’m not really salivating for this game. I don’t think I can trust any info even from the usual trusted sources because experience tells me people get blinded by lightsabers.

    In a tiny way, I’m skewing their numbers if they’re calculating anticipation.

    I wonder how many people are out there like myself, that when a game really seriously interests them, they skip beta and just wait until they can buy it.

  4. Bioware are just being cunning and slowly building the hype maching. I’m sure they’ve got some clever schedule of giving a piece of info or exciting tid-bit once a month.

Leave a Reply

