TOR… in… SPAAAAAAAACE!

Without further ado:

Excuse me one second.

/deep breath

WOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOO!

I think that “Please oh please can we do stuff in space?” was the number one question BioWare’s been getting slammed with for a while now, and for good reason.  Star Wars without space combat isn’t Star Wars, at least, not to me and my vast legion of minions who think exactly as I do.  I couldn’t care less if TOR had Jedi or not; I care deeply about whether I could jump into a cockpit and do a trench run or bomb an Ewok village.  While I’m sure the game would’ve done just fine without space combat, it wouldn’t be all that it could be.  And SWG folks would have a reason to gloat; now, all they have is crafting.  Good for them.

Anyway, I’m really looking forward to hearing more of the details about this — right now, Shacknews has the one quote that’s making the rounds:

“Space combat is an alternative gameplay experience to the primary game of storytelling, questing, and ground-based combat. In space combat, you fly your personal ship to various “hot spots” on your galaxy map. From there, you will blast your way through asteroid fields, enemy fighters, frigates, destroyers, and a variety of other obstacles that will evoke memories of some of the great Star Wars space battles.”

12 thoughts on “TOR… in… SPAAAAAAAACE!

  1. I’m still looking forward to every other MMO more than TOR. Nothing about it grabs me. At all.

  2. I’m not sure if I want to ask Ysharros what a “Spamela Hamderson” is. :(

  3. Now I’m interested. Even if it’s a sidegame, I always loved Star Wars space combat in games.

  4. Lack of space travel and combat was one of the complaints about SWG when it was originally released also.

    From the description it sounds like one should perhaps not expect too much of it, but it will be there if you want to shoot stuff in space.

  5. I must be one of the only people not interested in space combat in SW:TOR. I mean, I’m really really looking forwrd to the game but space combat? Nah. It just sounds like a mini-game which will exist for the sake of it. The devs would probably be better off taking that time and resources and further developing the main portion of the game. It sounds like they’re just throwing it in to appeal to more of a mass market.

  6. @Gordon: No, you’re not :P As I said above I’m not really bothered about the game one way or another, but the parts I’m slightly looking forward to are all the ground based bits. I ADORE flying in games, and I just do’t think it would work as a side portion to the main MMO section, especially if it wasn’t twitch based.

  7. This sounds great! Hopefully the space combat will be as good as X-wing or X-wing vs. Tie fighter ( I forget the actual names but you know what I mean). Those were great space combat games! Plus, better graphics!

  8. Pingback: SW: TOR Space Combat!! | Multiplaying

Leave a Reply

