Solving LOTRO’s virtues in one go

I’m finally getting through the meat of the Great River content in LOTRO.  It’s a fantastic zone, and if it’s an indication of the expansion, I’m even more stoked about Riders of Rohan.

But I don’t want to finish it, because when I do there’s just one thing I’ll need to do to get my Captain ready for the x-pack: Get her virtues up to 14.  Right now they’re dithering between 10 and 12, but I haven’t seriously worked on them since Mirkwood.  I guess at this point in my journey, I’m less than excited about grinding deeds, especially the kill ones.  Part of me just wants to throw money at it to get those numbers all up to the cap, but that would be irresponsible and just what Turbine wants.

It’s made me think about the virtue system and how it’s broken in a way.  I love the idea of it, and it does offer a fair amount of build flexibility as well as additional accomplishments in the game world.  It’s just that some virtues are far easier to complete than others (exploration vs. slayer deeds, for example), and I hate the unbalanced feeling that gives off.

So here’s my thought: Why not change the game so that specific deeds aren’t tied to a specific virtue, but instead just give a generic virtue point that you can apply wherever you like?  That way you still have to do deeds to get them, but you can choose which ones instead of having the game force you down a path.

I think it’d be a great change that will never happen.  Thematically, it sort of breaks the purpose of virtues (some of the activities can loosely be seen as relevant to the virtue name), but I don’t think anyone would care in the slightest.  It wouldn’t overpower us, and we’d still have the option to go after all the deeds that we want for extra virtue and Turbine points.

What do you think?

12 thoughts on “Solving LOTRO’s virtues in one go

  1. amazing idea :) – there are a couple of deeds that I need to do to get to 14 but I just cannot bring myself to start them (lizard and crawler slayer in eregion is springing to mind…) The deeds though, do seem to be getting noticeably less grindier from Enedwaith onwards but it still leaves a lot of old content grind to do…

  2. I can’t imagine the virtue system would change much at this point, though we did see some of the bonuses change over the years.

    Personally, I love deeding, and even enjoy the slayer deeds; although, the slayer deeds that were inside Moria instances that required a fellowship were a bit brutal, so I can see your point. :) On the bright side, some deeds are just easy, such as the Exploration ones, so it provides a sense of accomplishment to even the laziest of explorers. lol!

  3. I can see that system being abused quickly. If there’s 10 deeds in a zone, a new character could easily run around and max out their primary combat stat virtue and then start on something Morale related shortly after and within the first two zones they’d be over-powered for the content.
    It’s a good idea though, maybe just add a cap per level? Say at level 10, your virtues can only be at rank 3, rank 4 at level 15, and so on.

  4. As Richard says, it’s too easy to abuse. If we were starting form scratch, I’d love to see virtues decoupled from completing deeds – instead, have an epic quest line for each virtue. The quests could be set at the sort of levels you’d expect to reach that rank of the virtue, players could choose which quest lines to pursue to get the deeds of their choice, and best of all the quests could be linked to the actual virtue. Anyone up for designing a set of 14 quests based around Justice, Charity or Innocence?

  5. I like it. Very nice idea. As it stands now, to play the game the most effectively (and lets face it, if you don’t play the game in the most efficient manner, it just feels like you’re playing it wrong), you have to chart out the virtues and then hit up those specific areas where you can get them. In other words, it draws a specific path through the game FOR you. If this path is removed as your suggestion, then that allows the player to find their OWN path, and do whatever areas they want, not tied down to specific areas. This allows more freedom of choice, instead of illusion. Even if once you finished a deed you got a small choice of which virtue to raise… even that would be an improvement.

    You would still get plenty of people trying to speed them up (there are still quite a few to get), so the store items would still work… and gamers DO like choice. Choice that matters, especially, and I think this could work here.

    But yeah… good luck getting Turbine to go along with it. “If it ain’t broke, throw it in the store. If it IS broke, throw the fix in the store.”

  6. My idea:

    Do away with the Tier 2 deed, and make virtue deeds more like racial deeds.

    There are 12 types of creatures in the world (Ancient Evil, Beasts, Creatures of Nature, Dragon-King, Dwarf, Giant-Kind, Man, Orc-Kind, Spiders and Insects, The Dead, Troll-Kind, and Unseen), and 14 virtues. Tie each virtue to a specific type of creature. Obviously, since there are not enough types of creatures, some adjustments have to be made, such as splitting Orc-Kind into Orcs, Goblins, and Uruks, or consolidating and removing a particular virtue. Dwarves & Men could also be combined into a “brigand” deed.

    For every 100 creatures you kill, you get +1 in that virtue, up to the cap.

    Tier 1 deeds stay pretty much the same; they stay regional, you can do them at any level, and still get the title upon completion. Exploration deeds don’t count toward virtues. To give a bit more challenge, the deeds could require the average of the current T1 and T2 deeds (i.e., 225 spiders in the barrow-downs (150 T1 + 300 T2 = 450/2 = 225)).

    The drawback is that the devs would have to ensure that each type of creature appears in each new zone. Currently, for example, there are no brigands or beasts in Moria, and few unseen are scattered about, so there would have to be adjustments made there (maybe by adding a lesser cargul creature).

  7. I like your idea.

    Beyond that, I really don’t get why there are SO MANY. I have to imagine some are barely used considering how huge the pool is. I think they really should be tightened up in general.

  8. There’s no need to increase virtues purposefully for leveling. Wait until you see what virtues are awarded in the new zone and plan from there. Virtues are a bonus, except for raiding.

  9. Thanks gods I have all virtues around 18. So for me it’s just waiting for new virtue cap :p
    That is for my main, where mostly I got all virtues just by playing and only some by grinding. For alts (and I guess that goes for casual players too) it’s a pain, but I would not change it anyway. I like the system and there is so many options for each virtue, so no more “Circle of Despair” :D

  10. It sounds like you want the ease of paying for deed acceleration, but you don’t want to pay for it. The slayer deeds aren’t really all that terrible, and you make pretty good money doing them. Some of the exploration deeds are more painful than slayer deeds anyway.

  11. Rev, I disagree. Slayer deeds are generally seen as far too grindy in comparison to other deeds, and trust me when I say that I’m not alone in repeatedly calling for them to be trimmed back somewhat. As an example, to get one rank of Zeal for my level 19 Burglar, I’m forced to kill 450(!) spiders in one specific location in the Barrow-downs. It takes hours to do and is off the beaten path so that you won’t be able to work on this deed while leveling through the zone. It’s just poor design, and the fact that Turbine has to sell fixes for it instead of, y’know, just fixing it, tells you that even they see the grind as disadvantageous to play.

Leave a Reply

