F2P fallout in a galaxy far, far away

Quotes from my fellow bloggers:

  • “I really don’t want to see them go down the same path WAR did.  WAR spent so much time backtracking that the game never really advanced beyond fixes/changes.” ~ Werit
  • “Clearly EA were looking for some quick fixes for the expensive MMO which is starting to look like an albatross around their necks.” ~ Spinksville
  • “Everything is free to play, because the financial barrier entry for MMOs is fiercely competitive and in the end it’s very difficult to compete with zero. However much grognards may grumble, the vast majority of players prefer that revenue model. They’ve voted as such with their pocketbooks, and MMO developers who fail to recognize this (all six of them) are committing malpractice.” ~ Broken Toys
  • “While I personally will most likely pay less for SWTOR under the new model, I’m not celebrating.  SWTOR is a quality product, albeit one that may have been especially ill-suited for the subscription model.  The quality and direction of the game’s future development, with the reduced staff and revised business model, are likely to suffer.” ~ Player vs Developer
  • “What is also fairly unsurprising is the immediate upwell in the gaming community, including much wringing of hands and gnashing of teeth.  This really should shock no one at this point, and is really deserving nothing more than a polite “I wish them well”.” ~ Tales of the Aggronaut
  • “The cheapskate gamer in me is doing the “Running Man” dance move because of this news.” ~ The Frugal Gamer
  • “Why has it seemingly been decided that yes, the payment model is the problem with modern MMOs? I don’t get it. We seem to be ignoring the other obvious options for modern MMO design flaws.” ~ Herding Cats

8 thoughts on “F2P fallout in a galaxy far, far away

  1. As a cheap gamer (not unwilling, but can’t afford subs), I loved the news. It helps that I never focused on the MMO aspect of SWTOR because I just wanted to play KotOR 3 in the Old Republic. It’s my favorite Star Wars era/setting because they are allowed to get outside of the box of the films. I’m tempted to pick up the Digital Deluxe now that the price has dropped and treat the rest of my time in SWTOR the same way I do GW2: purchased box, play till the game ends, buy gems/coins/points as I can afford them.

    I’m not worried about waning support or fewer updates because I rarely get to end-game content in an MMO anyway, while I usually finish a single-player RPG storyline. 8 classes of story questing to work through? Sign me up!

  2. I might be in the minority but I agree more with “Herding Cats” above. I more think allot of mmo’s are somewhat flawed in design as it relates to financial support model.

    I’m finicky in what games I choose to play after or invest my time after a decade of online gaming. Even if a game goes FTP that don’t even mean I’ll even give it a look. Not even being FTP in any game is even a hook to get me to play. That’s part of how I feel about MMO’s after all this time. I’m wondering as well why everyone seem to think the problem is all in sub models or hybrid variations vs other design flaws in MMO games.

  3. Yeah, i agree with Herding Cats too… And it does feel weirdly like a minority opinion.

    15 bucks or so is a low enough price for me that it doesnt present much of a “barrier”. The barrier is more often “This game is not something i want to spend time playing”. The time investment cost is a much more important currency to consider than a few bucks per month. Using that scale, this F2P news doesnt change my valuation of swtor.

    I quit swtor after a couple months because once i got to max level on a single character, any interest i might have had in seeing another story couldnt overcome the dread i felt about having to level up through those same planets ansd content again. The game simply just wasnt very fun, regardless of the payment model employed.

    I quit, and happily am playing my next “main” game….. TSW… Where i pay a subscription. :)

  4. I’m with Atnor and Ardent Defender.

    My limited leisure time is a commodity far more precious to me than $15/month.

    If a game is enjoyable, I have zero problems spending $15/month on it. And if it’s not enjoyable, I really don’t want to burn my limited leisure time playing it, even for free.

    The only genuinely significant factor to F2P is that it allows me to play a game intermittently without the mental barrier of feeling that I’m paying for something I’m not using. Even though $15/month is trivial, I’d feel bad paying it and not playing the game much. So for a non-MMO game that I play occasionally (like League of Legends, for instance), it’s got to be a F2P or B2P model. But MMOs, which one I’m playing, I tend to play fairly heavily and exclusively. So a subscription is no issue.

  5. Herding Cats pretty much hits the nail on the head there. I always feel like (but don’t have any kind of proof to back it up) everquest got its f2p success because it was a solid game to begin with, but going f2p just made it more available to everyone. (I’ve never gotten the chance to play it though, so I could just be being silly.)

    I still don’t really get what BioWare is gonna do with that initial buy in price. They are apparently putting the game on sale soon for $15 which will include 1 month of sub, but I havn’t seen much about what will happen to that when it actually goes f2p. If they make it go away, they have to do something to bring the community together. If they keep it, that will be so confusing to keep track of all the payment methods.

    http://mmoauthority.wordpress.com/2012/07/31/star-wars-the-old-republic-going-f2p/

Leave a Reply

