I’m just a sweet transvestite from Transexual, Transylvania.

hotelWhile I almost forgot it, I did get some gaming time in last night with our The Secret World group.  It wasn’t anything super-formal, just general questing and farting around.  The interesting thing about it for me is that everyone was in Transylvania, the game’s third major world zone, a place I had never visited before.

I’d been forcing myself to wrap up the quests in Egypt’s City of the Sun God but finding my interest flagging.  This was due in part to my general disinterest in Egypt and desert zones in any video game, but also because most the quest-giving NPCs in that area are… statues.  Talking statues with the souls of a quibbling family, granted, but after a while it felt like I was taking on tasks from the home decorations department of Bed, Bath and Beyond.

So it turned out to be a very good excuse just to ditch Egypt altogether and move on.  I think it was time, anyway.  My character has a really solid build now (almost exclusively shotgun talents and skills) and has most of the important SP lines maxed out.  I’m still in strong need of better gear, but I figure that questing in a new area will help out better there than staying where I was.  Maybe some auction house shopping.  Maybe.

After the dusty, archaeological landscape of Egypt, Transylvania is a wonderful relief to the eyes and imagination.  It’s definitely a return to the outright creepy horror and modernization of Kingsmouth, although you can quickly tell that this is Old Country with a different monster emphasis (werewolves and vampires instead of zombies and Lovecraftian horror).  It also looks HUGE, and is three zones to Egypt’s two.  I’m quite excited to plunder its story and setting, especially if the initial character’s assertion that this isn’t your grandmother’s vampires and tired old horror staples.

Going back to my build, I think I’m ready to drop blades altogether.  I’ve only kept it around because it has a really great skill that allows you to evade and heal up over 10 seconds, but my chainsaw has a cool shield skill that I’m going to substitute in.  Blades doesn’t really add anything else, and I’m sick of carrying around this big ugly toothy sword that I got back in Blue Mountain and haven’t been able to replace since.

Since I’m focused on using Blast effects with my shotgun (multi-target) and talents that build off of that, I started doing some more research into what other weapons would work best.  There’s a great synergy chart here that helps with exactly that, and looking over it, I see that only fist and hammer also use Blast.  I’m more inclined to check out fist, especially since that can do some heals, but I’ll definitely need to save up a lot of SP to get that line up to 10.  Fortunately, AP and SP are coming ridiculously fast now through quests (another good reason to stay in Transylvania instead of going back).

4 thoughts on “I’m just a sweet transvestite from Transexual, Transylvania.

  1. There are a lot of good things about Transylvania but overall I found it depressing. Apart from Carpathian Teeth and the Gypsy camps, most of it is a rotting industrial wasteland. The storylines and dialogs are as well-written there as in the rest of the game but boy are they ever bleak. The poor girl in the ski lodge with the psychotic “boyfriend” is heartbreaking to listen to.

    I found the family in Egypt both endearing and moving – their millennial vigil was inspiring. Moving form the bright sunshine and comparatively upbeat and positive characters in Egypt to the largely unrelenting grimdark of Transylvania made me quite glad in the end that GW2 was coming and I could take a break. Not that Transylvania doesn’t have some great characters – the Fae Folk Trade Unionist organiser and the ousted vampire general hiding in a church under the protection of a pragmatic and cynical priest are all highly memorable.

    Hmm, just remembering it makes me want to take another look…

  2. I think it’s cool to see how different playstyles are reflected in what people (in this case, YOU, Syp. . ) choose to spec their characters with. For my general running around I use the Chaos/Blade combo focusing on Burst attacks (plus the Healing Sparks Fist passive) in Chaos and using Forking Paths and Clearing the Path in Blade for the high-damage guaranteed penetrating hit (which combined with Immortal Spirit pops a self-heal). If I need range, I have my rocket launcher with Pop Shot to pull mobs in, and Trial by Swords to charge (well, teleport) in to mobs if I need to. I think it’s awesome.

    If I’m going to be doing AE farming I use a Blade/Shotgun build. The Hit ‘n Run passive alone is worth the price of admission. Downside is that the single-target damage isn’t so hot, but you can get around that by pulling a swarm of weak mobs to the big mob and killing 1, then Hit ‘n Run fires off and the big mob just lost half its health anyway. . .

    I’ve got a friend who uses a Blade/Blood build when we run around. He doesn’t actually have a Blood finisher on his build though, preferring to mostly use Bamboo Cutter and CtP. I keep telling him to add a finisher. Maybe someday he even will. . . . But even without it, he can still solo Nightmare mobs in Transylvania without too much trouble.

    And here we have you using Shotgun primary using blast attacks and also doing just fine. Gotta love the skill wheel!

    FWIW, I’m with you and not Bhagpuss — I couldn’t get out of Egypt fast enough, but I absolutely *adore* Transylvania. My favorite zone is the Shadowy Forest. I just love the atmosphere there. And it’s got a lot of awesome quests too.

  3. I didn’t like Egypt at first — I preferred the eerie familiarity of Solomon Island — but the second zone has really won me over. I find the story of the Sentinels absolutely heart-wrenching. Especially the girl who liked to travel in life. Seeing her collection of postcards and realizing she’d never get to see any of these places really brought it home…

    That said, I do agree that the whole desert thing gets old after a while, and I am very much looking forward to Transylvania once I’m done giving Akhenaten what for.

Leave a Reply

