Five games I may — or may not — dabble in this year

aoI wanted to do this post separate from my resolutions because I don’t feel that it’s fun or appropriate to say “Yes, this is what I’ll be playing five months from now.  Hold me to it!”  But there are certainly thoughts and desires bubbling in the dark recesses of my mind, and I think that there’s a good chance that you may see me blogging about these games in the future:

1. Vanguard

I’ve come within a fraction of an inch of clicking on this icon and booting up the game with the serious intent to figure it all out.  The only thing that’s holding me back is that I’m worried about an excessive time commitment.

It is really cool to see SOE pouring in resources and the devs openly talking about plans for the future.  More than anything, I’d really like to feel out the diplomacy system.

2. Star Wars: The Old Republic

Yes, I recently walked away from SWTOR, but it was just a walk, not a full-on sprint.  I kind of miss my guild in that game and have been entertaining the thought of starting a Bounty Hunter from scratch.  Is it a sign that I recently found a 60-day time card when I was cleaning out a room?

3. City of Steam

Dang, I really want to play this.  City of Steam looks like it could fit a niche of an easy-to-pick-up 15-minute play session game, and I totally dig the steampunk trappings.  Apart from a dev tour, I’ve avoided the beta because this is one of those games I’d rather have as unspoiled as possible.

4. Neverwinter

Bland character classes aside, it’s a more accessible D&D MMO with that Cryptic character creation.  Giving players tools to make their own missions is definitely in the spirit of the franchise, and I’m quite encouraged by the positive word-of-mouth I’ve heard about it.

5. Anarchy Online

I keep wanting to have an older MMO somewhere in my rotation, and AO is the most likely candidate for my interest.  If Funcom flicks the switch on the graphics upgrade this year, it might just be the thing to push me into a long-term thing.

9 thoughts on “Five games I may — or may not — dabble in this year

  1. Mate, if you don’t have enough time for Vanguard, then AO should also be an issue. I takes ages to get the to max level (which I believe is about 220) and there is a lot of content around as well.. It is a great game, but huuuuuge :D

  2. I’m mildly curious about City of Steam and Neverwinter.

    I like the steampunk setting for City, but I’m a little worried about it being too close to the standard MMO formula, and I get a feeling of shoe-string budget from it.

    I don’t know much about Neverwinter, but the buzz seems good, the graphics are pretty, and I’m always interested in a well-made fantasy game with good character customization. Wasn’t it supposed to be F2P from the start, as well, or am I tripping?

    I already have a lot on my gaming plate this year, though. I’m juggling TSW, GW2, and Mists of Pandaria right now, and Heart of the Swarm is only a few months away.

  3. I’ve finally tackled my own list with Vanguard and LOTRO – let me say that Vanguard to me was unplayable. I had to delete it fairly quickly :D
    Fingers crossed for the “new” FFXIV which will be the third of my old to-do in 2013. then I’m definitely looking at ES Online, Wildstar and maybe EQ Next. that’ll be 2013 for me unless something unexpected comes along.

  4. Vanguard is utterly wonderful. It is a tad old-school but really not as much as you might imagine. I’m amazed to see Syl’s comment – I would had bet on her enjoying it. Unless it was a technical issue…

    City of Steam had just better get on and launch. I was done beta’ing it long ago. It’s done’ take it out the oven!

    Neverwinter I don’t expect to see any time soon, maybe not this year. If you believe the forums maybe not ever. If it does appear, I’ll be playing.

  5. Neverwinter is the only game that I’ll play on your list. But I can’t seem to get a lot of info about it. Especially The Foundry feature, which I’m super excited about.

  6. Is there any buzz/hope at all about Defiance? Seems like an interesting concept to combine a MMO and a TV show.

  7. .. cough .. EVE Online .. cough .. The only truly successfully MMO in the Western market (apart from PandaCraft). Heading towards 500,000 players and 10 years of growth.

Leave a Reply

