The Plan in 2013

I’ve done a lot of experimentation and introspection when it comes to my gaming time and the number of MMOs that I attempt to juggle.  For a while there, I was simply doing a five-game rotation, giving each title about a half-hour of gaming time apiece before moving on to the next one.  This worked okay, but wasn’t completely ideal for my situation.

So I’ve made a refinement to the plan that I think will work out best.  Because I write columns on both RIFT and LOTRO, these two games always get a gaming session every day whenever I first start playing.  I’ve decided to put those new year’s resolutions alts on hold for the time being in order to get through the recent expansions (which I acknowledged that was a lot more important for me to do than engage in personal acts of whimsy), and even a half-hour apiece every day will do a lot more good than a half-hour every other or third day.

As long as I get my “homework” MMOs covered, then I’m free to play whatever I feel like with the remaining time.  I’m still focusing on The Secret World, Guild Wars 2, and Star Trek Online, but other titles beckon.  Some friends are tempting me to return to EverQuest II, and I might… might… splurge and purchase a freeform character slot in Champions Online so that I can get the superhero fix that I want.

I’ve also established a personal rule of thumb to stick out a character to the level cap before giving into temptation and rolling alts.  I’m surprised I’m still going strong with my Engineer in GW2 and haven’t done any alting yet, but I really do want to get that 100% map completion and I only have about 30% more to go.

I feel pretty good about this setup.  It gives me the freedom to play what I want without compromising what I need to be doing nor my planned long-term goals.

6 thoughts on “The Plan in 2013

  1. I know you’ve known this for a while, but HOLY CRAP is Secret World amazing. I’m terrible at the combat and find it overly difficult, but the atmosphere, quests, and storytelling are so engaging and addictive that I don’t care. So glad I picked it up.

  2. I’m thinking I need to do like you Syp and make some goals and timelines. I tend to be an ADHD gamer that goes on hardcore spurts and burn through leveling content. Then I start instance grinds and my skin starts to crawl. Maybe making plans would help spread out the leveling content and avoid burnout.

  3. I didn’t know you could buy a freeform character slot in CO. I had the impression that FtP players are limited to fixed archetype builds regardless of how much they are willing to pay. Did Cryptic change that?

Leave a Reply

