What I do while grinding

Sometimes I like to engage in active gaming, where I lean forward and get really engrossed in the game and its story.  And sometimes I’m totally cool just grinding mobs for various purposes (usually achievements or for some other goal), which means I lean back and get a little more passive about it.  Get into a groove and just pow-pow-pow for a while.

When I grind, I like to make the most of my time and activate some secondary form of entertainment or project.  Keeps my mind from going too soft, I suppose, and I always like the whole two-birds-with-one-grind result.  So what do I do?

  • I’ll listen to podcasts.  I don’t do this that often any more, but a good ‘cast can fill out an hour or so just fine.
  • I listen to the always-entertaining SF Debris, particularly for the deconstruction of Star Trek episodes.
  • I’ll be listening to new music, usually video game or MMO tunes, and trying to sift through it all for the tracks I want to keep.
  • I’ll pop on a show on Netflix on my iPhone or iPad, usually a long series or a documentary.
  • I’ll get on Vent/Mumble/Teamspeak and chat with my guildies, sometimes even when I’m not in that particular game.

What do you guys do while grinding?

7 thoughts on “What I do while grinding

  1. My laptop sits right next to my desktop, so I have a bad habit of randomly surfing the internet on my laptop while grinding, often flipping between my guild’s website, google reader, and 9gag.

  2. I always have a twitch stream going on my other monitor, usually of the same game that I’m playing. As an added bonus, I look for streamers that are playing the same class as me, for extra tips and stuff.

  3. I was going to write something about this but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Short version, The Secret World completely changed this aspect of my gameplay.

    For over a decade I’ve had both the in-game sound and music AND speech radio on more often than not while playing MMOs. We have excellent speech radio in the UK – proper content not that listener-generated stuff so there’s almost always good listening to be had. If there’s international cricket on that’s pretty much going to fill the background all day, all week. I also like to listen to live radio from English-speaking areas anywhere in the world – I’m on the internet after all!

    So that’s what I used to listen to. Only when I started playing TSW that no longer worked because not only are there many, many voice-overs there but they are worth listening to and giving full attention – that’s a first for MMOs in my experience. Although I only played TSW for a couple of months full-on, I found that when I went to GW2 I just couldn’t concentrate or enjoy playing with the radio on any more, so for the last seven months I have had nothing to listen to but the games themselves.

    And guess what. To my great surprise I like it better that way. I don’t plan on listening to anything other than the sounds and soundtrack of the MMOs as I play them for the immediate future.

  4. I used to “grind” (I didn’t consider it that) while watching TV. I would lay on the couch with my laptop and the TV both in view. I don’t really do that much any more, though. I don’t really grind much, tbh. I am also usually playing with my bride; so we’re discussing more, and TV would be a distraction.

  5. Podcasts, forums, random YouTube videos, Let’s Plays. All of those have the common factor of not requiring full visual concentration. I didn’t include listening to music, because I do that all the time, not just when grinding. I stop music for Guild Wars 2 personal storyline missions, because the ingame cutscenes don’t include subtitles.

Leave a Reply

