LOTRO: Singing the low-level blues

bluesEven as I march through Rohan with my level-80 Captain, I’ve been making serious headway with a new alt in LOTRO.  A week or so ago I discovered that my multi-game guild, Mercy Gaming, had started a LOTRO chapter recently that was thriving.  And, coincidentally, on the same server as my other characters.  As they were all in their 20s and 30s, I figured it wouldn’t be too difficult to start up an alt and dash up there to participate in group adventures and instances.

So I reclaimed the Syp name from a long-dormant Burglar and rolled a brand-new (wait for it) Minstrel.  Yeah, I could’ve just picked back up my Warden, but for some reason the music was calling to me.  I might be going back and forth between the two classes before settling on one, but there’s no urgency here.

Anyway, between the Warden and Minstrel, I’ve had the longest stretch of time in low-level areas in recent memory.  It’s not a bad thing, to reconnect with lowbie roots.  The Shire is always welcoming, the pace is pretty peaceful, and it’s almost charming to face off against bandits instead of Uruk-hai and giants.

I’m taking the same approach with both of these classes, namely, to ignore questing in general until the second epic volume begins and mostly just skirmish and work on shoring up virtues.  While not engaging from a story perspective, it’s been pretty enjoyable as a relaxing activity.  And, y’know, building up characters at these levels is actually interesting.

I haven’t run skirmishes in a long while, so doing one or two group skirmishes a night has done wonders toward making me appreciate this content again.  I refuse to do them solo; just too long and boring.  But with one or two other people?  Suddenly it becomes a scrappy fight that moves at a good clip.  Storm on Methedras is my absolute favorite low-level skirmish, mostly because it’s visually appealing, relatively fast to do, and full of fun mobs to beat up.

I haven’t queued up for instances yet and might not, I don’t know.  With skirmishes, I know I’m not getting myself into a long slog, just a quick 30-minute adventure.  With instances, who knows.

In any case, skirmishing is proving invaluable for XP as a majority of the deeds that I need to do are level 30 on up.  I have had no problem going from 1 to 20 just deeding, but the 20s really slow down with only a sparse handful to accomplish (at least among the virtues I’ve picked).

5 thoughts on “LOTRO: Singing the low-level blues

  1. Some friends of mine have taken time off our 85s and rolled new alts with the intention of using the XP disabler to enjoy the Shadows of Angmar content on level and never rise above lvl 50.

  2. Since finishing Hytbold a couple of weeks ago, I’ve been putting most of my solo time into my Warden and Lore-Master, both of whom are in the low 30s. It’s certainly a lot of fun, though I STILL lack the patience for slayer deeds… Considering that lowbies are spending less and less time in the old areas (with crafting XP and all that, not to mention the XP pocket items), it’d be nice if the slayer deeds were scaled down a bit. Just saying.

  3. I agree, the ‘lowbie’ areas are so good, it’s a shame you don’t spend that much time in there once you’re level capped! I always enjoy it so much to be back in the Shire and Bree. It’s a shame all my characters are past that level now.

    I’ve skipped some area I didn’t feel like doing in the past by logging in and doing some skirmishes. I agree with you, though, that solo skirmishes are very boring. So I went to a skirmish camp and asked people I saw standing around there if they would like to join up. I’ve actually made some friends that way! :)

    Low level instances can be much fun, especially when playing with friends. Some of them are not properly scaled, though. I remember the final fight of the Inn of the Forsaken 3-man was a horror on level 26. We were playing with friends, of which 2 were end-game raiders and had a balanced team, but we got in trouble because we were missing skills and because of just lacking awesome gear (even though we were wearing the best crafted stuff etc). There was no way I could sustain DPS on the last fight on my hunter, I’d just run out of power. It was obvious that they didn’t anticipate on such things when they scaled the instance down. We had to take insane measures to make a chance, I don’t even remember if we made it or not. I wonder if anything has changed since then.

    Either way, I hope you’ll have fun questing and keep us updated. :)

  4. One of the things that does appeal to me about LOTRO is the morale system as opposed to most games’ health systems. The first character I roled when trying out the game was a huamn minstrel, and I liked the concept and the animations. It just wasn’t the game for me at the time.

  5. You didn’t do the Life of a Bounder deed for the awesome hat and title? I find that it’s a must for any aspiring character of mine.

    I hardly even know what the Breeland equivalent of the Shire looks like anymore.

Leave a Reply

