LOTRO: A woman, a goat, and the final frontier

goatI like being in Rohan.  That’s not an incredibly deep statement, but it’s sincere.  There have been places in LOTRO that wore out their welcome (er… Moria, Angmar, Isengard), but the beauty and general peacefulness of Rohan have been a balm to this seasoned adventurer.  I guess I’ve always liked wide-open spaces, particularly when I used to live in Colorado and could see for miles around me at times.  Rohan may be a region under a slow siege by invading forces, but it’s not hard on the eyes if you can get used to the company.

It’s really interesting how Turbine’s dealt with the lore restrictions where the general populace is forbidden to rise against the Orcs due to the king’s edict.  Sure, we know the king has been corrupted by Wormtongue, but they don’t know, and there’s a lot of pointless suffering and confusion by the Rohirrim as a result.

For players, this means that we’re used as legal loopholes, revenge by proxy.  “Our hands are tied when it comes to this problem, but YOU can deal with it!  Go, our hero!  Until we need you no more and refuse to talk to you so that you’ll move on to the next town!”

I do so enjoy it when I do all of this dirty work and the townspeople scold me for disrupting the king’s rules.

Last night I was doing a quest chain where a half-burned town was facing an imminent Orc invasion.  One guy was championing the idea of ignoring the king and doing a pre-emptive strike on the Orc camp, while a lady was saying that we had to operate within the king’s law and focus on defensive posturing only.  The game gives you a choice (“for roleplay purposes only,” says the quest disclaimer), and I mulled that over for a bit.  Sure, I as the player know that the king is under the enemy’s sway and as such his edicts are illegal, but my character doesn’t know that.  And while the rebellious nature in me and probably most players would instantly throw us into the “attack first!” camp, I believe in obeying authority as long as it’s not immoral.  The lady wasn’t asking us to roll over and die; she saw the danger and sympathized with the desire to attack first, but was trying her hardest to obey while being smart about it.  So I went with her side of things.

And then she got all snippy with me when the quests forced me to kill Orcs and I was like, forget it, I’m going to burn this country to the ground and sow seeds of a saner nation.  You people are nutbars.

All in all, the struggle between the desire to protect one’s homes and to obey your king is a great angle for the expansion to explore.  It makes us sympathetic to a people that we may have dismissed in the books as being naive of the real threat.  Like the Dunlanders in Rise of Isengard, these folks are being ground to a pulp between two impossible situations — and I have the opportunity to be a release valve for that stress.  I could perhaps provide a third option, or at least do what I can to alleviate suffering during a hard time.  It’s strange, but that makes me feel more like a hero — to do something small, anything in the face of overwhelming tragedy — than beating a raid boss.

5 thoughts on “LOTRO: A woman, a goat, and the final frontier

  1. I enjoyed the post. I’m surprised that, even seeing the world through your character’s eyes, you made the choice that you did. While I understand your point about respecting authority, as a hobbit from the Shire, Rohan’s king is not my king. And, although he may be the regional authority, I doubt he’s had the experience with orcs that I have had. For the last few months I have had orcs trying to kill me up and down both sides of the Misty Mountains, let alone the number that I had to slog my way through under those peaks. They’ve ruined the lives of many gentle folk and had a hand in offing some of my good friends. I haven’t actually reached the quest you’re talking about yet, but, I think I already fall into the camp of “defeat more orcs- yes, please- defeat them all!”

  2. I see your point, but if I as a real person travel to another country, am I not under the authority of that country’s rules and law? Even if I consider myself more experienced or knowledgeable, it doesn’t give me permission to override that law with what I think is best (even if it is!).

  3. I agree with you on these points, the developers have once again delivered a nice storyline within the boundaries of the lore. There seems to be a bit more of tension in the stories of the past expansions, and I like it as well.

  4. I chose the same side you did, simply because it seemed like the less popular choice and I wanted to see the quests in a way that most people would not. That quest chain has a nice “twist” ending, which you probably know by now, but that ending shows how dire the Rohirrim’s situation is.
    Now if I could just those lazy Rohirrim to rebuild Hytbold a little faster… no wonder the orcs are winning; they seem to build a settlement in one day and it takes months of dillydallying for the good guys to build one.

  5. Wow Syp, that is very insightful.
    My role-play involved… “see orc, kill orc”, and can I have another horse for my collection?

    Actually, I did think about this quest and decision more than that. Some things that came to mind… One could go with the “back the favored” ala Sauron (Neutral), “strict obedience to the law even though the intent might be uncertain” (Lawful Good, knights and soldiers), or operate on internal drive and personal belief to defend those who are unable (Chaotic Good).

    I think most superheroes are in the Chaotic Good category.

    I loved the message comments also and your follow-up comment . :)

Leave a Reply

