Guild Wars 2: The Final Stretch

Getting thrashed and drowned by hillbillies.  Just another day in the life of Syp.

Getting thrashed and drowned by hillbillies. Just another day in the life of Syp.

80%.  That is the number that taunts me and haunts me.  It is the little progression bar of map completion in Guild Wars 2, and it is not going up fast enough to suit my needs.

If I seem a little mad in the upcoming months (y’know, more than normal), it’s because this final stretch is definitely going to push me over the edge.  Don’t get me wrong: I totally love doing full-on map completion.  It’s just that I’m starting to see the finish line and then the permission to finally make an alt.  And man oh man do I want to make an alt.

So why don’t I just do it now?  Because I know myself.  If I start down the path of alts right now, then I will never finish 100% map completion.  And that’s been a goal of mine since the first week in the game.  I wanted — and still do — for my first character to complete the whole map with all of its vistas and waypoints and so on.  I wanted to explore the world in its entirety and be available for any activities after that.  It’s a dedicated project, and alts are the glamorous distractions that will keep me from ever getting that little spiffy icon next to my name.

Besides, I really do love exploring Tyria and doing this.  It’s satisfying and fun.  I just wish that, after five months, I would have finished already.  Early on in my GW2 run, I exchanged gold for gems at a now-ridiculous rate and purchased enough character slots to make one of every class if I so desire.  Those empty slots and reserved names are taunting me, I swear.  I also miss just leveling up and unlocking new abilities.  I might just change my engineer’s build soon just for variety’s sake.

Right now I’m up to the Straits of Devastation, which includes one of the more annoying jumping vistas I’ve done yet.  Oh man, how I hate jumping vistas.  I mean, maybe it’s fun for you to misjudge distance and plummet to your death, but as a guy who has no reliable depth perception in real life, it’s like the game is taunting me.

Good times!

7 thoughts on “Guild Wars 2: The Final Stretch

  1. That vista is very annoying! It took me several attempts and I *do* have depth perception. Also death perception after spending 30 minutes on that vista. Theres a jumping puzzle to another vista in the same zone, but its ‘relatively’ easy.

  2. Nice, “death perception”. The jumping puzzles are cool and all, but sometimes I wish there were a bit more variety — perhaps alternate types of puzzles requiring cleverness, rather than timing.

  3. 92% on my main. It’s a long, long journey, I’ll tell you.

    The part that I disliked the most is when I found out that you need to unlock the WvW maps as well. They are not technically part of the “world”, so why do I need them to complete my PvE achievement?

    I’m on my last map now, Cursed Shores. After that is just a matter of hoping Sanctum of Rall can open the map enough for me to complete the remaining.

  4. Yeah, I got 100% on my main. Hooray! I’m with Kemwer, though, having to do the WvW maps was just annoying. Especially given that my server always seemed to be the same color, so the Eternal Battlegrounds was hard to do after the instant server transfers ended….

  5. Similar for me. I’m at 85% or so. After making good progress in December I started LOTRO in early January and since then somehow can’t find motivation to log in to GW2 anymore. But I’d like to make the 100% map completion at some time (just two zones left plus WvW and some of the capitals).

  6. I’m at 100% on my main and 89% on my first alt. I’m not sure what I’m going to do with two more Gifts of Exploration, but hey, I came all this way, might as well finish.

Leave a Reply

