One-handed gaming

razer-molten-2

Stop giggling at the title of this article.  We are about to dive into serious technical business.

So some of you know that I have a relatively newish baby in the house (those who are ever present with me in Teamspeak sure as heck know it), and as such I knew that he was going to present a few small snags when it came to gaming.  I’ve gone through this a few times before.  Thus, right before he was born, I purchased a Naga molten-something mouse due to the promise that I would be able to game one-handed if need be.

This actually comes into play every day or so.  Hey, when the baby wants to be held, he wants to be held, and who am I to deny him the wonder of MMOs?  It’s at this point where I go from the traditional mouse-and-keyboard setup to mouse-only… and it kind of works.  Kind of.

I’ve read testimonials of people who have gotten really proficient with gaming on a Naga mouse and perhaps even prefer it.  I don’t think I’ll ever be saying either, but I am glad for the option when I need it.  The mouse features 12 buttons on the left side that correspond with the 1-12 on the keyboard.  It effectively allows me to pilot my character and fire off a basic rotation.  I’ve found this works best for Guild Wars 2 (which kept its hotbar pretty short and simple) and less so for games like LOTRO, where I heavily include ZSCFV as auxiliary hotkeys.  And there’s the issue of jumping.  I don’t really know how players can jump with this thing.  Maybe there’s some keymapping that can be done, I haven’t really looked too closely into it.

So while it’s not revolutionizing my life or anything, it’s a nice gadget to have when I’m down one arm for gaming.

10 thoughts on “One-handed gaming

  1. I’ve become addicted to my Naga. I try to play games on my laptop and find that I’m constantly trying to hit key binding unique to the Naga. I’m like you in that I don’t think I will ever be fantastic at using it like some folks, but for what it is, I can say it’s seriously been the best investment I’ve ever made for gaming. It’s just a quality of life thing on my end. I don’t want to struggle when I play games, and the mouse makes managing complex classes easy.

    I could just be lazy, though.

  2. I’ve gotten gaming w/ newborns down pretty good, you just have to get a chair that leans back, get em snuggled in and then you can reach around em to use both mouse and keyboard.

  3. Ah! Jumping! I bound my middle mouse wheel to jump. I use that way more often than autorun, which is usually bound to middle mouse. And, honestly, after so many years playing Nintendo, my jump button needs to be on my right hand.

  4. Nice! Remember that you can reassign the naga defaults keybindings…no need to stick with the conventional 1-12 or numlock keys. For ex, I usually reassign 1-3 naga keys to shift, alt, ctrl and my push to talk key is numlock 12.

  5. I’ve had mine for, I think, couple of years now? Something like that. I can’t game without it now. I tried…

  6. Make one of these for left-handers. Now. Seriously, we’re something around 10% of the population so it’s a smaller market, but there’s almost NOTHING for us in terms of gaming mice. I have the Razer Deathadder which the only southpaw gaming mouse I’ve seen on the market in years, and it has a whopping TWO side buttons which really doesn’t cut it for a GW2 engineer who wants to be able to fling ALL the grenades!

  7. i used to use and love the naga when I was playing Tera incessently, but now I have to say Ienjoy the logitech range a bit more. It is just far more comfortable to use.

  8. Swtor and its eleventy billion abilities for every class helped push me into finally buying one of these. Definitely a great mouse. I used to only whip it out for mmo’s but after I got used to it I was using it for everything.

  9. Glad to hear it’s working out for you. Personally, I wasn’t so fond of the shape of the Naga (as well as I could guess by touching it through the plastic shell on the box anyway), I was not looking to fully replace the second hand on keyboard, and I’ve heard mixed opinions on having that many buttons in a grid – some people say that they can’t reach all of them and/or sometimes lose their place and hit the wrong one.

    I wound up going with the wireless WoW mouse instead because I really liked the layout and primarily wanted a place to bind keys that aren’t in each reach of my left hand, rather than a full one-handed gaming solution. I’ll be writing a full review once I’ve had more time with the thing, so far I’m pretty satisfied, though it’s definitely a luxury item when you compare its price to its features.

Leave a Reply

