Guild Wars 2: To be Orr not to be

whiteflagYes!  I can use horrible headline puns to inflict internal bleeding on you!

This past weekend I crossed a major milestone in my quest to get 100% world completion in Guild Wars 2 (you know, what everyone else was able to do last November), which is to finish all of the points in the world.  The PvE world, that is.  The last few zones were in Orr, which folks had been warning me about for months now.  I guess I had to see how bad it was for my own eyes, however.

Orr is this sunken island that was brought back up from the sea and infested with chicken zombies.  And shark zombies.  And turtle zombies.  Really, anything you can think of is now a zombie.  Seriously, I saw a group of people fighting a champion-level chicken zombie and had to once again wonder how animating a corpse gives it super-durability and strength.  You’d think the soggy, rotten thing would fall apart if you just gave it a good bump with your shoulder.

Visually, Orr is interesting if not a place that I’d like to vacation for any length of time.  Guild Wars 2 sadly subscribes to the design where high-level zones have to look ugly, oppressive, and be hard to navigate.  So while it’s kind of cool to see barnacles everywhere and the sunken ruins of a civilization brought up into the air, there’s very little beauty about it.

What really repulsed me, however, was the mob density — and I’ve been told that it’s better than it used to be.  There are just scads of mobs everywhere, making travel a headache and escaping a difficult fight impossible.  It needs to be cut down by a good 30% or so to bring it in line with how the rest of the game feels.  Then again, you’ll have the people who welcome this sort of thing in the name of a good challenge.  I don’t feel like it’s a challenge to have to slowly cut my way through an army of zombies, I feel like the devs are throwing dozens of speed bumps at me in a row.  Buh-DUMP-buh-DUMP-buh-DUMP.  There goes my suspension, er, repair bill.

Anyway, I was able to wrap up the final waypoint with the help of a friendly guildie who assisted me in a suicide run past a gauntlet of bad guys and trebuchets.  That was a good feeling.  Then a bad feeling arrived: The only thing left for world completion was to dive into PvP lands and get all of those points.

Really?  Does that need to be a part of this?  Nothing against those who wish to PvP, but map completion feels like a PvE exercise, so why do I have to go there?  It’s not even on the world map.

Sigh.

So into WvWvW I went, plugging gamely away at points of interests and vistas while enemies were given a free shot at the loner Engineer who’s obviously there just to pick these things up.  I kind of wish I had a white flag or some sort of protective bubble to signal that I wasn’t part of this pointless struggle between three colors that for some reason hate each other.  I always thought colors got along; at least that’s what my crayon boxes taught me.

We’ll see how long this final stretch takes.  I’d love to get it done sooner rather than later — the alt itch is growing as I’ve spent a half-year with a single class now.

7 thoughts on “Guild Wars 2: To be Orr not to be

  1. “So while it’s kind of cool to see barnacles everywhere and the sunken ruins of a civilization brought up into the air, there’s very little beauty about it.”

    I actually found Orr, particularly Cursed Shore, to be really beautiful in its own way. Those huge circular structure, spires, barnacles, even the lighting…. I found it all very other-worldly and really compelling.

  2. I feel your pain. I’m at 98-99% on my mesmer, all that’s left is wvw however I play on a tier 1 server and that is all but impossible at this moment or at least at the effort I’m willing to expend. That said, I rolled a guardian to past the time and loving him.

  3. Orr in my opinion is 100% better than it was at release. I wouldn’t even step foot out there alone. Now I’m doing loads of dynamic events and running around. A run speed skill on your utility bar helps a ton. I think Mesmers are the only ones w/o one. I admit that Cursed Shore is where I spend most of my time out there and its much better than Malchor’s Leap, I still hate that place.

    I have 98% map completion. I just have some of Eternal Battlegrounds and the Red world left. Gonna be a long haul to finish. At least they up’d the drops so I will be getting more badges towards my legendary at the same time.

  4. My pun was “it’s Orr-ible.”

    Yeah.

    I have real mixed feelings on Orr. I love the idea of open world as endgame content, and I like how bleak and ugly and generally horrible it is — I hate “pretty” zones; where’s the adventure in that? But it ultimately became more of an endurance test than enjoyable gameplay.

    It wouldn’t be half so bad if the entire population wasn’t funneled into the last zone such that the first two are an unplayable frenzy of unchecked dynamic events.

    Also, contested waypoints need to die. Painfully.

  5. My thoughts on Orr are recorded elsewhere so I’ll not waste my time on them.

    However, since WvW was the whole reason I played the game for several months let me just say this; depending upon what server you’re on you would probably get it done with faster if you saved up the gold and just bought server transfers to the appropriate places.

  6. You probably should have done WvW map completion when everyone who was interested in it did, namely during the many months of free server transfers. On a T1 server you might have a problem.

    Orr is considerably easier to travel now, too. Not easy, just easier.

  7. Almost everyone hates Orr. And, yes, it was worse than it is now. It was a lot worse at first month from launch, when you had to try it with few players going to that zone and with the temples bugged.

    And strangelly, there are a lot of players that too love Orr, while hating it at same time. It is not a zone for the weak of heart… for be more correct, just look at your map, you will see Orr is heartless (yes, that is a pun based on game mechanics).

Leave a Reply

