The Secret World: A love letter to my chainsaw

Yeti_picture176If I could have one wish in The Secret World come true (apart from lowering mob health a wee bit), it would be for the ability to make auxiliary weapons one of the primary ones.  Okay, maybe it would make a mess if players were firing rocket launchers non-stop, but man I’d love to be able to use my chainsaw full-time.

It’s a simple weapon in comparison to the other auxiliary weapons, but I’ve identified with it.  Not a lot of MMOs let me saw through enemies with rapidly rotating steel, after all.  Its attacks are straight-forward: a small direct damage attack, an AOE attack, a reflection shield (because… chainsaws can do that), and a massive direct damage attack with momentary stun.  I’ve been working my way up the skill ladder for that last one because I need a powerful one-on-one attack.  12 AP to go, that’s nothing.

The game only lets you slot one auxiliary weapon and only one auxiliary weapon active skill at a time.  If I’m going through a tougher mission, I slot the reflection shield, but the AOE attack is generally great for regular missions and dungeon runs.  My guildies seem to comment a lot on how often I’m taking the chainsaw out.  It’s that distinctive sound, I suppose.

I think one of the reasons that I love the chainsaw so much is that it fits in with the horror genre so perfectly.  Slashers (Leatherface) and heroes (Ash) both hit iconic status with the chainsaw as their primary weapon.  There’s something about attacking evil with power tools that makes you feel like you’re striking back.  Finally, the demons and vampires have a reason to be afraid.  I imagine my character stepping into one of their many lairs, pulling on the starter cord, and filling the space with a growling motor and their screams.

While I’ve acquired the other three auxiliary weapons as well, none of them have tempted me away from my beloved chainsaw.  How could they?

5 thoughts on “The Secret World: A love letter to my chainsaw

  1. I actually use the Quantum Brace anymore. I run a melee build when solo, so it’s nice to have a ranged attack beyond my teleport and my yank. TBH, I don’t think I’ve even equipped my chainsaw yet nor bought any skills for it, though that’s more due to the fact that I run rdps in dungeons so haven’t felt I’ve needed it, and I’m trying to finish out the entire skill wheel before really focusing on the aux weapons anymore.

  2. From a point of functionality, the rocket launcher and chainsaw are the winners. The bracer and whip are nice toys, but not cutting it in any significant way.

    For solo-play, i tend to use the chainsaws reflect shield along with the passive to boost its DoT damage, when tanking in dungeons the agro passive takes over. Either way, the damage reflection shield is very useful. (For actual damage, your regular attacks are more useful, as you can boost them much better with appropriate passives. )

    Only when not tanking in a dungeon run, the rocket launcher with death from above (and rocket science as the passive of choice) takes over. The additional mobility and thus survivability (what doesn’t hit you can’t kill you) beats any other aux weapon we currently have.

    Still, for most of the game the chainsaw is the ideal weapon, and that’s even before looking at the style factor. :)

  3. Just got my chainsaw (and quantum brace) last night. The first ability almost doesn’t seem worth it, the effect is so quick. But I guess the debuffs and DoT of “Rotting Teeth” help.

Leave a Reply

