WildStar and the flowers of spring

So WildStar’s gone into closed beta, which is certainly a milestone to celebrate.  I wasn’t expecting that to happen until early summer, to be honest, so it’s forced me to revise my estimation of where the game is and how soon it’ll be until launch.  It’s hard to say with a new studio, because Carbine could be the type to put something into beta for ages and ages and ages, but generally a closed beta signals a six-month countdown (or less) to a major release.  My guess at the moment is September.  It’s a historically good month for MMO releases and gives the studio the rest of spring and all summer to put WildStar through the ringer.

I may be one of the few people who is wildly (wah wahhh) interested in this game but didn’t bother to apply for a beta key.  It’s nothing new, but I’m just not interested in betas these days of games I’m strongly anticipating.  I love the day one freshness, and after satisfying a little bit of curiosity, I don’t get much out of a beta period.  Besides, my gaming time is too precious to waste on characters that are going to be wiped and it sucks to be in a beta you can’t talk about on a blog.

I’m anticipating being pretty busy in the next couple of months, anyway.  There are a trio of releases that I’m looking forward to: Neverwinter’s soft launch on the 25th, next month’s Star Trek Online: Legacy of Romulus expansion pack, and the upcoming Update 11 from LOTRO.  Even if nothing else happens in this period, it’s going to keep me pretty busy.

So while I won’t be in the WildStar beta, I’m excited that we’ve moved into this phase.  It’s a psychological relief to know that we’ll probably be seeing the game releasing this year, so waiting won’t be terribly hard.

2 thoughts on “WildStar and the flowers of spring

  1. “Besides, my gaming time is too precious to waste on characters that are going to be wiped and it sucks to be in a beta you can’t talk about on a blog.”

    I agree with that 100%. So naturally I’ve put in my WildStar beta application, and I’m sitting here tabbed out from another beta, having played a third earlier this week. Oh, and I’ll be playing in the final Neverwinter beta this evening. Sometimes what makes sense just isn’t what makes sense.

  2. I think you meant Update 11 for LOTRO..update 10 has already launched.
    I too am looking forward to the update

Leave a Reply

