Southsun delight

So I made a vow to myself that I’d try my best to keep up with the new living story content in Guild Wars 2 instead of being half-hearted about it.  So far, so good in that respect; I’ve taken my Engineer to Southsun for the first time (I didn’t want to touch Lost Shores with a ten-foot pole) and become engrossed in achievement hunting.  Is there a story to go along with all of this?  If there is, it’s downright subtle and I doubt many people are paying attention to it.  Instead, the event has turned the zone into an achievement-hunting, event-running, loot-farming frenzy, which is pretty fun at this scale.

I felt uplifted when I realized that the achievements to get the title and backpacks weren’t the most insane grinds (you never know with ArenaNet, after all) and that a casual player such as I could probably get them.  I’ve been dutifully plugging away at them and am more than halfway done so far, having already gotten my sparkly flower back item.  I AM ALL THAT IS MAN — FEAR MY FLOWER!

OK, I’d rather have a steampunk backpack, but beggers can’t be choosers.

I do have a few quibbles with the zone, however.  It’s right up there with Orr in terms of troublesome navigation at times, and while the mobs are loot pinatas, they also hit like a Mack truck.  It’s not that enjoyable to suddenly find 60% of your health gone and you sprawled on the ground like a floor mat just because a mob sneezed in your direction.

The crab toss game was interesting until I started playing it.  This right here encapsulates all of the things I loathe about PvP: Feeling as though I am struggling to catch up but never can, getting owned by twitchy players who are far better at all this, and watching my precious time being wasted with little or nothing in return.  After one game I dusted my feet off and never looked back.

Finally, I am just bashing my head on the desk at this skipping stones jumping puzzle.  Who likes jumping puzzles?  One of the devs, apparently, and maybe a legion of sadomasochistic fans.  I’ve ranted on platforming in MMOs before, so I’ll just give my monitor the evil eye.

Quibbles aside, I do like how the atmosphere of the zone has turned into a social cooperative party.  People are doing a lot of stuff together and generally helping each other out — rezzing, porting, tag-teaming mobs, and so on.  It shows me that the Guild Wars 2 model works, not just for the novelty of the first month, but throughout.  It’s a game that genuinely encourages people to play with each other and help each other instead of viewing each other as node-hogging, mob-stealing competitors.  Hopefully this living event will develop a story better than the last one, but at least the activities so far are worth the price of admission.

6 thoughts on “Southsun delight

  1. “Finally, I am just bashing my head on the desk at this skipping stones jumping puzzle. Who likes jumping puzzles? One of the devs, apparently, and maybe a legion of sadomasochistic fans. I’ve ranted on platforming in MMOs before, so I’ll just give my monitor the evil eye.”

    I don’t like jumping puzzles, but I know there are a lot of players that like it, you believe it or not. I too can note that the ellusive “lore” says that asura created SAB as a educational device and it is really an educational device: it theaches players to dodge and how to complete jumping puzzles.

    Anyway, there is a fast solution for all your jumping puzzle problems: mesmers. You can find a helpfull mesmer helping other players to get the end of jumping puzzle helpfully. Mesmers too are very good helping to invade enemy keeps or to flank the enemy zerg in wvw.

    With relation to story, I can note that GW2 is having some dificult time to show how the story develop to the players. Or maybe the players are having a dificult time looking for the clues that show how the story is being developed. There are two problems here: a playing game is not exactly an environment for tell a story (that is the reason we see stories in game being cutscenes) and players are not teached from other MMO for give attention to what the NPC are saying.

    So, maybe more players had to take note about what that dredge prisioner was talking (http://dulfy.net/2013/05/12/gw2-flame-and-frost-epilogue-guide/) and certainly more people need see the Dinamic Event that when ends we see Inspector Kiel talking to other NPC and concluding who is behind the animal attacks. The diferent living events are linked, but it is being hard to see the full picture. Problably GW2 will need use more cutscenes, because count on players asking questions to NPC or waiting for see what NPCs are talking after a DE is not working. Or maybe the our next interaction of SAB need focus at teach us players to look for the clues that show how the story is developing.

  2. I love jumping puzzles…

    Skipping stones is a hard one though.

    I really loved seeing the changes in Southsun. It’s starting to get properly built up. It definitely feels more like a proper zone now. And believe it or not, but they’ve reduced the amounts of mobs there. I do wish they’d done down the damage just a notch.

  3. There are mesmers portalling to the end of the Stepping Stones nearly all the time, both on the server I’m on and on all the Overflow servers I’ve visited so far. No need to do it the hard way.

    Shame you missed Lost Shores, by the way. I think it was one of the most enjoyable things ANet have done with the game. With the great improvements they’ve made to lag and culling since then, the time’s right for something similar.

  4. I agree on the damage of the mobs there. It’s frustrating to be standing around with my Mesmer at 21,000+ hit points and be downed before I have time to press a button. It’s really varied though, some mobs I can kill in seconds and they can barely hurt me in return, while others smear me into a fine paste without trying. What’s especially daft is the former type are usually alone, while the latter type are often in packs. Really?

    Otherwise though, I’m just a tourist. I have no need for “new” content, as I’m not even remotely close to finishing the base content. Glad to see Arenanet continuing development though.

Leave a Reply

