WildStar: Picking my path

settlerWildStar had a larger-than-normal reveal this week, this time detailing the game’s much-touted pathing system.  It’s a Bartle Test-like mechanic that offers you tailored content depending on your preferred playstyle (although this should be seen as additional content that goes along with the 80% or so of standard content that everyone experiences).  The four paths can be mixed-and-matched with any class/race combo, and include:

  • Soldiers: Lots of killing/defense missions along with special weapons missions
  • Explorers: Lots of map exploration, jumping puzzles, secret passageways
  • Settlers: Lots of constructing structures along with and for the good of the game community
  • Scientists: Lots of lore extracting and cataloguing

In a nice touch, Carbine said that players who group together can experience each other’s paths, and players with the same path can combine to make a mission more potent (or whatever, it’s not fully explained).

There’s very little about the path system that I don’t like, really.  It certainly will up the replayability and alt factor — all four paths seem interesting in some regard.  But the question that I (and probably most other WildStar fans) are asking is which path will be the first one I take.

Out of the four, explorer is probably least appealing.  I mean, I love poking around on maps and finding secret places, but I’m less-than-fond of jumping puzzles and platforming in MMOs.  Maybe it won’t be that bad, but it’s not a strong selling point.  Soldier is an adequate pick, although I feel like I’ll be doing enough killing in my normal missions, plus it’ll probably be an overwhelmingly popular pick.  Just my gut on that.

So that leaves builder and scientist.  Scientist might be a great first choice in that it’ll help me really get to know the game and its world on the first playthrough.  Sort of like a commentary track that unfolds along the way.  There’s a nice collection aspect to it that certainly appeals.

Settler is calling to me strongly, however.  I’m really attracted to the idea of molding bits of the game world and learning how to make useful stuff (like motorcycles), plus if this path ties into the housing system like Carbine hinted, then I’m so there.

I’ll have to chew on it for a while.  Right now I’m leaning toward settler, but we have some time before that decision will need to be made.  What will you pick?

12 thoughts on “WildStar: Picking my path

  1. Explorer here. Not getting in beta is KILLING ME as people i know are now receiving invites. I blame Syp.

  2. I’ve had my eye on the Settler path ever since the Path concept was first announced. I love the idea of upgrading outposts, building outposts, and providing things that other players can use. It’s a way I can interact with other players without even needing the “formal” structure of a guild or other such organization… since I have terrible luck with guilds. :P

  3. Having actually played the Explorer path at Arkship, I can tell you that platforming is a lot more fun in Wildstar. Double jump and the ability to steer in the air helps a LOT.

    Scientist looks the coolest to me right now, but I imagine the most convenient one for leveling would be the Settler.

  4. I’m along the same thought lines as Syp. Not into jumping puzzles, Soldier seems a bit bland, so tossing up between Scientist and Settler, with a lean towards Settler because of the cool stuff you can build.

  5. I’m thinking settler will be the most popular one. It will most likely be settler or explorer for me.

  6. I got Explorer in the Gamer Psychology Quiz, but it would actually be my last choice on Wildstar.

    1. Scientist – I’m a lore fan. Big time. Main character.
    2. Settler or Soldier – I like housing and building-systems, but I don’t go crazy over them. I like killing things, but I don’t relish or min/max.
    3. Explorer – Die jumping puzzles die. I’ll join Explorers in things, but only make one if I’ve already ‘finished’ the other 3.

  7. I’m definitely going for Settler. The thought of buildings structures in the open world is really enticing.

  8. So… strange… when did Exploration become associated exclusively with jumping puzzles? Maybe GW2 locked that in, and the other games have to follow.

    If there were a profession that did actual exploration, I’d be all over it.

  9. I so love the understanding from a developer that not everything needs to be combat.

    That being said, I am still conflicted:
    Warrior is last, both for personality and because all other MMOs give you that.
    Based upon Bartle, I was leaning towards explored but it’s not exploring it is jumping puzzles. I could see starting an explorer alt and finishing the warrior before it due to my loathing of jumping.

    Some of the developer comments mentioned social with settler which was a huge red flag for me. If I need to be pimping my camp fire in trade chat or pugging a town-building event I will not be pleased. So how overcrowded will builder be? And can a mostly off-hours solo player do it? are the questions to decide between it and the safety-path of scientist.

  10. Same problem as others. One big point about explorer is the skill needed. I love simple Jumping Puzzle in GW2, and hate hard one ! Dying again and again during one hour – my upper limit – is not fun *for me*. My fear is the following : can I still explore Solo if i am not an explorer? Or exploration zone will be locked ?

    Soldier seems fun but a bit redondant with the rest of the game.

    Scientist : I am not a collectionner, and this seems to be a collection-heavy paths.

    Settler : Hum feel good… but 1/4 of population building everything everywhere ? I hope this game is BIG !

  11. I cant decide to be honest, each path has some appeal but with the explorer I think I’ll be happiest (outside of science) mainly because I loved the jumping puzzles in GW2 and from what I’ve read that is what most of the exploration is akin to. Also the tunnels you can find are very cool, but definitly will be going with scientist at some point (either main or first alt)

Leave a Reply

