Planescape Torment: The Drowned Nations

pt1(This is a continuing series detailing my playthrough of Planescape Torment.  You can check out the whole run on the Nostalgia Lane page.)

So there’s this weird feeling that I get in single-player RPGs (and only rarely in MMOs) that I call “I’m so far from where I parked right now.”  It’s when I’m like 10 levels down in a dungeon and can sort of feel the weight of the distance and above levels pushing down on me.  I feel far away from safety (civilization) and keep thinking of how long it’s going to take to return.  And then every additional quest that keeps me down here is a chain.  It’s liberating to finally finish, but with Planescape, I’m not quite there yet.  I’m heading into the Drowned Nations under the Catacombs under the Buried Village under the Warrens under Sigil.  So far from my car.

I thought the Drowned Nations would be a little more, y’know, water-based, but it looks pretty much like more tunnels.  A bunch of ghouls from the Dead Nations are there scouting out territory.  Gee, hope the news that I just slaughtered their entire city hasn’t caught up to them yet.  Good.  It hasn’t.

My goals down here are pretty simple: Find Pharod’s sphere and find the endless water to help out the stone face guy.  Apart from the neutral ghouls, the Drowned Nations are populated by beasts that look fierce but go down pretty easy.

I find the endless water pretty quickly after triggering a trap that ambushes me with a dozen or so skeleton bats.  The sphere isn’t too far away, either.  I find that the entire floor is a pretty simple, straight-forward experience, and that’s refreshing.  With the items I need in tow, I return to the catacombs.  Time to go find my car!

pt2The first stop is to make the stone face guy happy, so I pour some of the endless water across his granite lips.  Hey, I’ve done stranger things in this game so far.  He rewards me by giving me another mission: to find a lady named Nemelle in the Clerk’s Ward.  Okay… I don’t even remember what we talked about earlier that made him want to send me there, but I’ll play ball.

Speaking of balls… time to get back to Pharod.  Before I do that, I make a quick pitstop to complete a quest for Quint (he wanted a poison charm of which a dead guy in the catacombs told me the location).  I bought several blood charms from him for healing as well as a new eye that upped my defenses a bit (because… POWER EYE!).

Finally, Pharod’s quest is done and the old man owes me the truth.  Or what he’s willing to part with.  He spills that I had come into his village a while back, killing left and right to intimidate him into giving me a “boon:” the promise to keep my body safe if it was found dead somewhere. He gives me a few items that he took from me (but no journal) and told me that his daughter Annah was the one who found me.

Annah is a Tiefling that I had met early on in the game.  She’s got an attitude about her and she clearly does not like me.  She does agree, however, to show me where she found my corpse prior to the start of the game.  So she joins the party (yay!) and we head to the Haunted Alley.  Wait, isn’t this whole city haunted?

2 thoughts on “Planescape Torment: The Drowned Nations

  1. ‘It’s when I’m like 10 levels down in a dungeon and can sort of feel the weight of the distance and above levels pushing down on me.’

    Yeah your in the zone when you sense this, it reminds me of, ‘Too far from the save point so must go on and hope not to die!’
    Very early day of my MMO experience…the first FF online game …in the hills dodging goblins…low level…I didn’t even have a car…was going to be a long walk back but just kept pushing further and further away!

Leave a Reply

