The Secret World: Love and hugs in a time of darkness

My new Dragon* in The Secret World is absolutely ripping up Kingsmouth.  Everything goes way faster the second time around, especially when you’re not stumbling around in a mixture of horror and awe and what-the-heck-do-I-do frustration.  I’ve got just one questgiver to go before I head to Savage Coast, and that’s including all of the side missions.  I feel like a boss.

I’ve decided to focus on a healing build with my assault rifle.  It’s a little strange actively seeking +heal gear, but the fact that I’m not even close to dying is pretty enjoyable.

So last night I’m doing my thing, la de dah, and I get a group invite from a nearby player.  Because my mother told me to absolutely trust strangers without a prior tell, I accept the invite and we proceed to chew through several missions together.  The other player was unfailingly polite, and after some chit-chat, I found out that he/she was a brand-new player in the game.  It was kind of cool to be able to give that player some advice and practice healing at the same time (with an assault rifle… that seems a little messed up, but a thousand horse doctors can’t be wrong).

I’ve been trying to challenge myself to get into more groups lately, even if just for general questing and exploration, and this reinforces the notion that it can be a good thing.  I hope I made that other player’s experience a little more positive, as I know I came away from it feeling boosted.  It reminds me of how my 4-year-old son has absolutely no qualms of making anyone his new best friend — his extroverted nature propels him to run over, give kids a hug, take their hand, and ask if they want to play.

So beware, Secret World.  The hugs of Syp are coming.  Oh yes, they are coming!

*Not an actual Dragon.  Although, in the context of TSW’s world, that would be pretty awesome and not that lore-breaking.  Dragon vs. C’thulu, anyone?

5 thoughts on “The Secret World: Love and hugs in a time of darkness

  1. I didn’t read anything of a carebear here, only of socializing. :)
    [And, AR healing is awesome! ]

  2. Last night I went into Secret World and while passing through Egypt, saw a request for others for a PUG of Normal Ankh. Currently I sit at a mix of QL10 Blues and Greens with a wicked AoE/DPS/Crit elemental/pistols build that’s tons of fun. I rarely group, too, and didn’t need any of the loot, but I thought “Sure… lets do this. I’ve never done it before, should be fun!” … it was the farthest thing from fun.

    On a NORMAL Dungeon, some group members wanted to run through everything at the fastest clip, even already starting against bosses when a couple were stuck back fighting other mobs. They bypassed entire sections using environmental exploits, and then pretty much demeaned every other player around them. We got through it once, not sure how, and I still don’t get AT ALL what the story/boss patterns were. So, suddenly they’re running it again. Not to break others fun, I joined back in. Suddenly, the leader starting getting so full of themselves, they really started lighting into every other player under the guise of “Well this is what end-game is like”. I couldn’t take it. When they finally told me “Activate that skill one more time or you’ll be sorry” I said “Or what? You’ll do this?” And removed myself from the group.

    Today I still find myself fuming over it. I know there’s a bad elitist/jerk underbelly to every game, and TSW is no exception… but for such a great game, it’s still such a huge disappointment when you encounter it first hand. I really feel like what should have been a good experience was ruined and now I find myself questioning the rest of the game.

    So yeah, grouping is good… but it can also come back to seriously bite you.

  3. I’m really sorry to hear about your experience. I really don’t understand that mentality. I have no idea what their gear levels were, but they had no reason to run a normal instance as if it were a Nightmare. And really, there’s no call for it at any level. Hell, I’d have dropped group far sooner than you apparently did. Of course, I refuse to do PUGs specifically to avoid that behavior.

Leave a Reply

