Anthymn: The ultimate bard MMO?

anthumnSooner or later, I guess there’s a Kickstarter that comes along that ropes in even the most jaded “investors” among us.  My attitude toward Kickstarter has mostly been of aloof interest: If the games get made and they’re good, then cool, I’ll check it out, but they’re not getting my money right now for something that might not be made or might not be made exactly as promised.

Well, now I might have to go back on that position, because I think this Anthymn thing (devilish as it is to type) could have me dishing out a few bucks.  It’s an entire MMO devoted to music — all characters fight with music, are musical classes, compose music together, and seek to save the world through music.  It’s crazy.  It might be brilliant.  It’s Bards: The MMO.

It’s also probably not going to be sweeping the MMO world off its feet.  The Kickstarter isn’t making a ton of money right now and has less than two weeks to go.  Some folks, myself included, passionately love bardic classes in RPGs, but they’re definitely not the most popular kids in the school halls.  They’re the band geeks.  And this is asking folks to get behind an entire game of nothing but bards.

But that, to me, is just brilliant.  It feels innovative.  It makes me think of classic RPGs like LOOM or even Zelda: Orcana of Time.  The ex-GW2 concept artists have done a great job creating the look of the Kickstarter page, and I’m digging the video pitch for it.

I’ve long said that LOTRO’s music system was an absolutely awesome feature that all RPGs should include.  If you’ve played LOTRO, you’ve probably seen how player music can bring the community together and offer powerful user-generated content in the form of concerts (seriously, Weatherstock every year is absolutely insane and it’s 100% player-run).  For those of us who aren’t musically talented in real life, we have a second chance to be so in the game.  I can’t even imagine the possibilities that a full music MMO could have, but apparently String Theory can.

So we’ll see.  I hear that Anthymn will still go forward even if it doesn’t hit its Kickstarter goal, but that’d be a shame.  It’s the first Kickstarter MMO that really arrested my attention and made me yearn to play it right here, right now.

4 thoughts on “Anthymn: The ultimate bard MMO?

  1. I would absolutely be up for an MMO in which playing music was the setting. One in which you began as a teenager rehearsing in your garage with three friends from school and ended up the biggest selling act on the planet, or a hopeless, drug-addled has-been, or a cult hero dead at 29 and so on and so on. With tours standing in for dungeon crawls, festivals as raids and managers, lawyers and crazed fans as the mobs and Bosses.

    One where you fight monsters with music, though? That’s just silly.

  2. You consider yourself one of the most jaded investors in kickstarter, yet you’re willing to give money to something that has never been done, has no working tech, and just a bunch of talking heads vaguely bloviating about it?

    Is this a joke? Sounds like the stupidest game I’ve ever heard of before, I hope they fail. Considering they’ve only reached 30k of 600k with 10 days left, it looks like they will.

  3. I thought about sending a note about this to you as the kickstarter was beginning — one of the designers worked on Glitch, so I got an early heads up. Then I forgot, then I saw you post something on Massively and figured all is right with the world.

    @CF: That pretty much what they said to Will Wright about The Sims, when he wasn’t originally allowed to make it. That’s also what a friend once said to me about Doom and Wolfenstein — and in his defense, he didn’t seem entirely wrong at the time: we were still figuring out controls to make FPS games practical.

    I couldn’t tell you that this is or is not the most stupid game idea ever. But I can say it’s an original idea, and anyone that actually likes gaming should celebrate original ideas, even ones they don’t personally enjoy. Or they can just go back to playing this year’s copy of last decade’s hit, like they’ve been doing anyway.

  4. @saucelah

    And for every success story based on “big ideas” I could find a hundred games that completely bombed. I assure you, if your argument for investing in unproven ideas is based upon pure conjecture, there are far more examples of failure than success.

    Even setting that aside, I’ll never understand people who are so easily wowed by a couple concept art pics and a few smart-talking salesmen. I guess a sucker really is born every minute, and kickstarter really is a great place to catch them.

Leave a Reply

