Planescape Torment: Welcome to Curst

crone(This is a continuing series detailing my playthrough of Planescape Torment.  You can check out the whole run on the Nostalgia Lane page.)

Last time on the exciting adventures of Syp through the planes, the Nameless One and his companions finally confronted Ravel, the dreaded Night Hag, and had a thirty-minute conversation with her that culminated in boons being given followed by a nasty boss battle.

And then!

Then the game froze, progress was lost, and that was that.  I had to go back through the entire conversation tree again, and I cannot stress how long this all was.  At least I avoided a game freeze after the battle this time around, and with Ravel’s corpse growing cold, it was time to figure out a way to leave this maze.

This in and of itself isn’t that difficult.  When I find the right portal, a cutscene is triggered as a tree-looking thing called the Transcendent One comes over and badgers Ravel back to life (turns out she had a few “tricks” to keep her from truly dying).  They bicker and the TO says that I don’t have a chance before Ravel starts attacking it.  I have to say, even though this game is well over a decade old, the spell effects are pretty nifty.  Ravel dies… again… and I end up in a desert-looking place called the Outlands.  Curst.

First things first — I have a lot of post-battle things to take care of.  Four of my party leveled up, so I enjoyed clicking on those “accept” buttons.  Then I had to distribute loot.  Finally, I had a chat with Annah in which she admitted that she had feelings for me even though I smell like a zombie.  Heck, who wouldn’t?  Axe Rotting Corpse is all the rage with the teenage set these days.  Anyway, I kiss her and she starts smoking… literally.  Don’t know what that’s about.  It’s kind of cute.

curstSo welcome to Curst.  This is a prison town in one of the hell planes, and it’s a huge departure from Sigil.  It’s a cracked desert-kind-of-place where the folks are hard and hardy, and Fallout references spring to mind.  Curst is a good place to loot random stuff all over the place, although a sign mentioning a quarantine in effect is a little worrisome.

I meet a lady named Roberta who wants me to keep an eye out for her husband.  She suspects he’s cheating on her.  Just a suggestion, Roberta — maybe moving from that one spot you’re standing will help you with your search.  Just a thought!

I found a harlet who was willing to do the deed (killing the husband, that is), and since the quest doesn’t give me any leeway to see if the guy is actually cheating or not, I go ahead and farm out the task.  Planescape Torment: Now with more harlets and contract killings!

I start asking around about the deva, and the local barkeep says that he’s got the info to get me to him/her/it — but the information is locked in his mind.  To access it he needs a key assembled from five parts.  Seriously, who in their right mind sets up these kinds of things?  The first part of the key requires me to rescue the barkeep’s daughter from some slavers, so I resolve to get that done first thing next time.

4 thoughts on “Planescape Torment: Welcome to Curst

  1. Is there a pretty good sense of progression for your characters as you go thru the game? I noticed reading some of these entries how much of the gameplay resembles fetch quests in mmos, then you me toon distributing loot in this one, so inquiring minds want to know!

  2. I think that there’s a lot of non-traditional quests in the game, including investigation quests, dialogue quests, puzzle quests, and so on. There are fetch quests too, sure, but most RPGs have them.

    In terms of character progression, Torment isn’t as concerned about it. You do level up and can gain some new abilities, but it’s all rather basic compared to Baldur’s Gate II.

  3. Ok thanks – probably worth the money just to check it out for as reasonable as it is.

Leave a Reply

