Five Good Things VII: Feedly Takes Manhatten

lardladIt’s time for another edition of Five Good Things, a short list of things that are making me happy lately.

1. Feedly

Well the Google Readerpocalypse has come and gone, and I’ve moved my business over to Feedly.  Honestly?  I’m actually happer with it than I was with Google Reader.  It seems to have more options and scroll faster than Reader did, and I’m able to catch up on my blog reading a lot faster these days.

2. Thursday Next

My current reading is going through the Thursday Next series.  There are six novels, and I had only read the first four in paperback.  So I bought all six on my Kindle and am now on the fifth title.  These books never cease to amaze me with their absurd humor and incredible creativity.  If literary humor, time travel, demon battling, alternate worlds, and using the very format of the book itself as part of the story appeals, this is a must-read.

3. Parry Gripp

I didn’t realize that Parry Gripp, the “Monkey riding backwards on a pig” song guy had an entire album until lately, but he does and it is fantastic.  It’s 50 short and insanely catchy tunes that me and my kids now rock out to on a daily basis.  He’s got a couple other albums that I haven’t listened to yet, too.

4. Free R.C. Sproul crucial question ebook series

R.C. Sproul has long been one of my favorite reformed theologians.  He’s got this Columbo look/personality to him and a brilliant way of taking complex Christian doctrine and teaching it in a way that’s clear and concise.  He’s now offering his set of 14 Crucial Questions ebooks for free forever, and I’ve really been loving going through them.

5. The Simpsons Tapped Out

I know that there’s not a lot of respect out there for time-based management games.  And I know that EA is pure evil, eats kittens, and is still perplexed why people were upset about SimCity.  But… TSTO just hits a happy spot for me.  It’s a franchise I have fond feelings for, a gradual sense of progression, good humor, and a smattering of strategy.  While certain buildings are hidden behind pay walls, a good chunk of the game is completely free and you can go all the way through it without paying a dime.  I like that.

2 thoughts on “Five Good Things VII: Feedly Takes Manhatten

Leave a Reply

