Master of Orion: The Battle of Ocho

(This is part of my journey playing through Master of Orion.  You can follow the entire series on the Nostalgia Lanes page.)

War is upon us, friends.  The invasion of planet Ocho by the Sakkra is imminent… and does not fare well for my fledgling world.

capture

And to rub it in, I’m immediately treated to this screen:

sakkraOh.  OH.  Now it’s on, my lizard friends.  For I am Lannister, and a Lannister always pays his debts, and I now owe you one planetary invasion.

It’s not all bad.  I still control the airspace (spacespace?) above Ocho, with plenty of my new Mako ships on the way.  Plus, I found a new colony of Spinks and am able to immediately send 50 transport troops from Bio Break down to Ocho and 20 more from MMOGC.  However, the Sakkra have sent another wave of transports to Ysharros.  It’s tough trying to defend these fledgling colonies, because they have neither the population nor the defenses to do it on their own.

My Makos arrive at Ocho and I’m given a fun option to unleash nuclear devastation:

bombBOMB BABY BOMB!  Feel that, lizards?  That’s radioactive fallout and the heat of a thousand fiery suns toasting you in your leathery shell!

The Sakkra are seriously overextending themselves right now, and the battle for Ysharros goes better for me.  Nearly 40 transports are destroyed by my fleet before they can land, and the 8v8 battle that ensues leaves me with… a sole survivor.  But that’s enough to retain control of the planet!

yshI’m starting to get the feeling that this game isn’t going to let me progress too far into the tech tree before devolving into galaxy-wide war.  I send 8 million people from CSTM to beef Ysharros’ population back up to the pre-fight normal.

Two more colonies come into existence: Ferrel and Talyn (hey, I’m going by whoever pops up on my Twitter feed at the moment, so get chatting if you want to have a system named after you!).  I continue the bombardment of Ocho while my invasion force nears as well.

My revenge is at hand.  The first wave of my troops lands unopposed on Ocho, and a 50v48 fight breaks out.  Despite having equal gear, I win with 13 troops left over.  Ocho is saved!  All hail the Silicoids and their Silicoidy ways!

This does not endear me to the Sakkra, however:

scumReally?  Really.  You invade one of my planets and try to invade another, and then you get all upset when I kick you off MY world?  Fine.  Go cry back to your lizard mama, who will probably try to eat you anyway.

The Sakkra aren’t going to give up without a fight, however.  Out of nowhere, 31 of their medium ships hit two of my Makos and a handful of my medium ships, obliterating them.  Uh oh.  That ain’t not good.

I decided that making Makos takes too long, and create a new medium ship, the Barracuda.  It has a nice offensive punch, although it’s still pretty slow (I’ve yet to unlock some of the faster engines).  I divide all of my developed worlds into equal parts ship production and tech research, and reroute my ships to Ocho.  That planet and the three others nearby are in a sort of pincer between two other empires AND are within obvious striking distance of Sakkra.  I’m going to need to build up a wall of defense, fast.

4 thoughts on “Master of Orion: The Battle of Ocho

  1. Ahhhhahahahaha! This is too much, man. Too much! Keep fighting the good fight, though. The brave citizens of Ocho appreciate all you do for them. Only a small few have started worshiping their new lizard overlords, but they’re kinda outcasts anyway…

Leave a Reply

