My 10 most wanted games

wsEvery once in a while I like to take stock of what I’m anticipating, game-wise.  Here are the current 10 titles that I’d love to be playing right the heck now:

  1. WildStar: I haven’t talked about this lately, mostly because I try to keep from thinking about it or else my impatience will drive me insane.  Love the look, love the personality, and love the ideas here.  Crossing my fingers that this could become the next WoW-like addiction for me.
  2. EverQuest Next: Sure, I’m equally smitten and hesitant with the EQN reveal, but there are a lot of great ideas at work here and a terrific art style to boot.
  3. Anthymn: This is my long-shot, but I’m totally head-over-heels for the notion of a beautiful music-based MMO.  I truly do hope it gets made and made right.
  4. Star Citizen: I‘m in a weird place with this title.  I’m absolutely dying for a good space sim MMO, but I’ve yet to be convinced that this will be it.  Do want to try it at least to see.
  5. Firefly Online: Yeah it’s going mobile and yeah that could be a big red flag, but did anyone really think that Firefly was going to be a major PC MMO anyway?  Realistically?  I’m just happy it’s coming out somewhere.
  6. Card Hunter: Very, very impressed with this D&D/CCG mashup from its beta, and can’t wait to see it go live so I can start playing it in earnest.
  7. Hearthstone: This game just oozes slick production values and sheer fun to me.  I’m a little disappointed it’s coming to PC first and tablets later, but that’s OK — I just want the Magic: The Gathering hit with a much reduced cost to stay competitive.
  8. The Walking Dead Season 2: Man, Walking Dead Season 1 was just one of the most intense, moving, and nail-biting games I’ve ever played.  Even though the choices didn’t have as much of a long-lasting effect as I had hoped, it felt that way.  Can’t wait to see what the next season brings.
  9. Pocket Trains: This just-announced mobile title from NimbleBit automatically made the list.  I like trains more than planes anyway, and I sincerely hope that it’s a lot more fun and less micro-management than Pocket Planes turned out to be.
  10. Wasteland 2: Wasteland was one of my all-time favorite RPGs from my childhood and the post-apoc setting is always gripping.  This project is looking pretty promising already, and I hear that they’re going to release Wasteland 1 on GOG.com and with Wasteland 2 itself if you’re a Kickstarter backer.
3 thoughts on “My 10 most wanted games

  1. Pingback: Something Coveted, Something Queer | Kitty Kitty Boom Boom

  2. I’d like to see more retro games, like from the old 8-bit C64 platform make the transition to my iOS phone. I guess I am giving my age away with this comment.

  3. Pingback: Fantasy MMORPG Outlook ~ 2014 | Kitty Kitty Boom Boom

Leave a Reply

