Master of Orion: Bird beatdown

(This is part of my journey playing through Master of Orion.  You can follow the entire series on the Nostalgia Lanes page.)

Everyone hates me.  Nobody likes me.  And I’m going to make them all pay.

The words of an overemotional teenager or cartoon coyote?  Nay, it’s the state that I’m in right now.  The galaxy is rising up against me, and I feel that this session will make or break my chances to win.

Hey everyone, it’s a GNN news update!

spinksWell that’s not going to help.  And why do the rebels have World War 2 rifles?  Anyway, I tell Arkenor to send 12 troop transports to deal with these upstarts.

A scuffle above Ocho results in both me and the Alkari losing a few ships, although the stupid birdbrains retreat before a final result can take place.  Then the voting screen pops up again; this time the cat-people vote my way, but it’s not enough.

While I would love to really crush everyone, I just don’t think I have the industrial base to do it yet.  Worse, if I keep pursuing full-time war production, I’ll be falling further and further behind in the tech race.  Time to balance things out a bit, play defensively, and hope that one of these sides sue for peace.

With everything rebalanced, I play out a few unremarkable turns.  It’s only after the third turn do I notice that a large colony transport is almost on top of Psychochild!  Crap!  The good news is that I have two large fleets close by; the bad news is that they’re too far to get there in time.  Anticipating a crushing defeat but hoping that I’ll regain the airspace in time, I order Bio Break to wing 40 transports that way while I ask my fleets to converge.

fleetmovementsSeriously, I’m just embarrassed to be losing this bad in front of all of you guys.  If it was just me, at this point I’d probably start a new game.  But there’s something to be said about playing it out to the end, even if you might lose!

In the next turn, I found the colony of BlueKae, Ysharros gets bombarded (no time for that now, tho!), and Psychochild is invaded by 61(!) transports.  My 50 or so population don’t stand a chance.

Or do they?

yayI won!  Did not expect that, because I didn’t realize I had a slight technological edge: My trooops had hand lasers while the Alkari had… beaks, I guess?  Bad language?  Bird poop?  Anyway, I needed that win and it felt good.

It doesn’t mean the war is over, though.  Two more Alkari transport fleets are on their way, although I’m not quite sure which planet they’re aiming at.  My first fleet arrives at Psychochild and takes out one of the Alkari large ships while the other one retreats (the AI does love its retreat option).  I have about 150 ships right now, so I take a gamble and send Psychochild’s fleet of 47 Barracudas to Ysharros to hopefully protect that planet.  In one turn, my secondary fleet will arrive at Psychochild and a new third fleet from Ocho will arrive there in three turns.

My soldiers are unable to put down the Spinks rebellion, so I have to send out more troops from Ferrel — which can barely afford the loss of population at this point.  But I do need that planet back.

On a happier note, I build a new colony ship to refound Werit, and my tech is progressing quite nicely!  My hope is that the Alkari are spending too many resources building ships and sending off troops that they’re falling behind in production.

Two space battles ensue, one above Psychochild and one above Ysharros.  In both cases, I kick a little butt while losing a handful of Barracudas.  In both cases, the enemy retreats and I claim the airspace.  And — this is the best part — in both cases, all of the enemy transports trying to land on those planets are destroyed.  As a plus, I also reclaim Spinks the very next turn!

Bad news soon follows: GNN reports that the Alkari have a higher level of tech than I do — I’m actually in third place.  Ack!  Will I be overrun by high-tech birds soon?  We’ll find out… same space-time, same space-channel.  But tomorrow.

5 thoughts on “Master of Orion: Bird beatdown

  1. I think this has been the best nostalgia stroll to date. Masters of Magic next please! Then we can read about, say, the Trolls of Tesh joining forces with the Elves of Ysharros and led by the mad wizard-hero Psychochild beating back hordes of invaders. It will be epic.

  2. Wot! No Stropp’s World in the empire? ;-p

    I never played MOO 1, I did get MOO 2 so many years ago and played it quite a lot. I was continually whomped until I played the science oriented race, stormed ahead in research and had my technologically advanced ships and troops walk all over the other races. So, from what I recall, research and scientific advancement is probably the best thing to do when playing MOO.

    Thanks for your posts on this, I’m truly enjoying them.

Leave a Reply

