The Secret World: Give me direction!

220px-Orochi_computerWhen asked what I wanted to do last night in our group run, I didn’t have a preference.  I said something like, “I just need something to do.  I need focus.  I need a project.”

While I do have my Dragon alt, player her is more an amusing diversion than anything super-serious.  I’m quite attached to my shotgun-toting Templar, and when I spend time in the game, I want it to be with her.  But apart from group dungeon runs, I need something else to do at this point, as I’ve finished the new issue (twice) and the main storyline.

I mean, it’ll get better when the next two issues — with scenarios and Tokyo — come out, but what to do in the meanwhile?  I need a project, some direction.

There are a few thoughts, but none are really gripping me at the moment:

  • Do the dailies to get those credits for Orochi/Indiana Jones cosmetics and signet bags
  • Go lore hunting
  • Do achievements
  • Go back to Egypt and finish up those quests that I abandoned
  • Start serious dungeon running to gear up
  • AP grind to flesh out my wheel and get the other outfits and the Tron suit
  • Work on a new build
  • Replay Transylvania start to finish

So there are options, but I don’t know which will be the most beneficial and enjoyable.  For those of you at the current endgame, what do you do to pass the time?

5 thoughts on “The Secret World: Give me direction!

  1. I’ve been running though all the zones, trying to fill up all the Lore Entries. And catching up on missed quests. Look in your Journal and see if there are any mission sets that you haven’t finished. If you get really stuck, you can always cheat and look it up at unfair.co.
    Such a great game!

  2. I’ve been running nightmare missions for XP a lot. There’s a great farming route in the Besieged Farmlands (coincidence?). Do The Girl That Kicked the Vampire’s Nest, which gives you an item mission to go to the vampire hunter. Then he gives you Ripples, which ends with an item mission that sends you to the French girls. Then they give you… whatever the nightmare mission with the werewolves is called.

    If you’ve got a good build, you can get through them all in about an hour or less, and they give a great deal of XP, plus some signets. If you’ve got extra time, you can also head up to St. Hamarabie for Foul Banquet.

    Exploration can also be surprisingly fun in TSW. There are a lot of rare mobs, hidden item missions, and lore entries hidden just off the beaten path.

  3. I would at least try finishing up any mission you haven’t played yet. Still lots of lore goodness in them, and at the same time would help in achievement hunting. Lore hunting is always good, too, to get that extra nougaty layer of story.

  4. For myself, I do the BF “nightmare loop” described above, then I head into the Shadowy Forest to run a couple of missions in there, then finally down to the Carpathian Fangs to run The Castle and the sabotage mission that has you running through the lair area in the NE corner of the zone. Very fast XP doing that.

    And last night as I was traversing through Agartha I saw a “beginner Polaris NM run” looking for a dps, and since my dps spec is decent-ish, I joined up. Got a nice pistol upgrade (from a non-upgradeable QL10 purple to a 10.2 NM drop) and the standard amount of bullion. Only wiped once on Ur-Draug when he made a cut to the right during blue when we expected him to go left and he caught out the healer. 2nd attempt went just fine though. ‘Twas a fun night.

  5. I didn’t want to seem uninterested, but I’m actually behind you in progress I think. I plan to hunt down all the lore when I get a chance. And finish the story, etc., etc.

Leave a Reply

