LOTRO: Look at me, instantly wrong

My kids love this “Little Engine That Could” movie where the caboose is voiced by industry vet Patrick Warburton.  At one point in the movie he’s moaning that they’ll never find their lost friends and right away one of them pops up.  He then quips, “Look at me, instantly wrong.”

I feel like that sometimes, especially in trying to predict this industry.  Anyway, so I guess Turbine isn’t slowly ramping up to a Helm’s Deep expansion launch for LOTRO — they’re going full steam ahead for a November release.  This is a two-month beta, so that’s… that.  I guess it’s enough?  I’d be more comfy with three or four months, but Turbine’s not been doing long tests of any of the recent updates, so either they don’t care or they’ve got a system down to expedite the process.

I’m going to mull over what this all means and the particular offerings for the two versions of the expansion, although the premium edition doesn’t seem quite as tempting as in previous years.  Personally, I’m glad I don’t have to wait until next year to continue my journey through Rohan.  My Captain’s roaring and ready to go, so I’ve got two months to polish off any remaining quests, clear out her inventory, and make sure I’ve got my 16 virtues across the board.

6 thoughts on “LOTRO: Look at me, instantly wrong

  1. Well if they get it out in November and it works…or should I say, the update, that I wont really be playing, doesn’t break LOTRO again – update issues (the updates also took it outta my comp’s graphical ability so had to basically upgrade computer :()

    ‘My Captain’s roaring and ready to go, so I’ve got two months to polish off any remaining quests, clear out her inventory, and make sure I’ve got my 16 virtues across the board.’

    I wish…and the Captain changes, opinion? Too early to say?

  2. interesting. I just received in me email about LOTRO’s Helms Deep. I use to play it when you paid a sub (yup, that long ago), but could never get the hang of the crafting, so I dropped it. Kinda weird to see it is FtP. Anyway, thanks for all of your inputs on the way the company has gone and the troubles.

    stay frosty,

    -roo

  3. I follow LoTRO closely, and I was a bit shocked when they announced the release date. I was thinking December at the earliest. In the span of about a week we have gone from knowing practically nothing about the expansion to full previews and a November release date.

  4. When I saw the announcement, I immediately thought at your doom’n’gloom post just a few hours before…

  5. Helm’s Deep has already been in beta for at least a month. I got my beta invite (which I didn’t bother with, not currently playing LOTRO) a while ago.

Leave a Reply

