Beyond Good & Evil: Well, the orphans are probably dead by now

(This is part of my journey playing through Beyond Good & Evil.  You can follow the entire series on the Nostalgia Lanes page.)

z1Boy oh boy, I’m on my first assignment as a secret agent for the IRIS network!  Wait, what qualified me for this duty again?  I photographed a monster in a mine?  OK then.  I’m guessing IRIS has high turnover if that’s the kind of recruiting technique that they use.

Anyway, Pay’j and I are off to the factory to probably get killed and then processed into Jade McNuggets.  Remember when we were the sole support for a gaggle of orphans who have no way to leave the island to get help?  But now we’re secret agents!  That totally takes priority!

The entrance to the factory has one tiny hitch: a tactor beam-emitting robot that stops us.  Pey’j has a plan:

z2
Going to need some serious pearls for that!

z3
I explore around the pedestrian district and head to Ming-Tzu’s shop, who ends up being a Chinese Walrus.  I’m starting to wonder if the race/beast match-ups this game is presenting are slightly racist in a way that I don’t understand.  I mean, I wouldn’t think that any race would find being represented by a walrus as a mark of honor.

Ming-Tzu is quite helpful: He hooks me up with some IRIS back issues and news flashes, and sells me a pearl and an upgrade to my heart meter.  Zelda, here I come!

z4
We go back to the Jamaican Rhinos, get the cannon, blast the robot, and enter the factory.  Meanwhile, social services is investigating the lighthouse and trying to determine what happened from the arrangement of the corpses.  Not really, but my imagination is in overdrive.

z5
Like the mine, the factory is another pseudo-platformer that requires going through an obstacle course to get to where I want to be.  I photograph a code to decypher it, get inside, do a few new jump rolls to get over laser beams, and generally amuse the security guards who are no doubt watching on some ceiling cameras.

z6
Yup, shoving a box into an electrical field sounds like a good idea!  Let’s give that a whirl!  I’m only slightly surprised that it doesn’t kill us.

z7

On the other side of that doorway, glowing green tracks signal that there’s a Reaper in the area. Pey’j starts freaking out and suggests that we return to the lighthouse. No, Pey’j, that would be both responsible and sensible! Let’s stay here and fight a hellbeast with a stick and a wrench. I’ll take pictures of the beatdown for our scrapbook.

One thought on “Beyond Good & Evil: Well, the orphans are probably dead by now

Leave a Reply

