Beyond Good & Evil: Adventures in elevator maintenance

(This is part of my journey playing through Beyond Good & Evil.  You can follow the entire series on the Nostalgia Lanes page.)

p1Because it’s a truism in any platformer/adventure game, things that should be working are not and nobody but me seems to care.  In this case, we find that the entire factory is neigh inaccessible unless we go around fixing everything, which makes me wonder (a) where the workers are, (b) why nobody’s filed a maintenance report, and (c) if I should’ve brought along my gaggle of orphans to double as workers.  Their dainty little hands can fit inside all sorts of machinery.

Anyway, the elevator is broke, which is probably due to the fact that the factory owners decided to let a soul reaper rampage around the place.  Putting this in a real world perspective, it’s kind of like you were an Intel chip factory owner and you heard that some unwanted guests were on the way, so you told all of the workers to take the day off while you smashed doors and conveyor belts with a sledgehammer, turned a bull in heat loose on the floor, and draped the rooms with exposed live electrical wires.  I mean, you could just hire guards, but where’s the fun in that?

Pey’j says we need a fuse.  I say we need to figure out if pig livers can substitute.  He says no.

p2Our adventures in fuse-finding take me to a laboratory, where the reaper’s already visited and partially eaten a cow while he was there.  Now the rats and flies are all over it, which is a lot less gross and a lot cuter when you factor in Beyond Good & Evil’s graphical style.

p3Up a service elevator and I find Agent Double-H in what looks a lot like an agony booth.  Gee, that looks like fun.  Can I join the bad guys’ team in this game?  Why not?

p4Jade gets a code from the governor that unlocks a handy new gyrowhatever-shooting glove.  Now I’ve got a long-range and short-range attack, making the full transition to Legend of Zelda complete.  I use it to bust Double-H out of the booth.

p5Either due to his genetics or the brain frying, Double-H proves himself to be a, well, meathead.  I mean, his special move is dumber than the fart-powered rocket boots: He rams into things with his helmet.  And when he does this to get me out of the room, his momentum flings him into the central pit.  It doesn’t kill him, and I don’t care either way.

p6Finally, the soul reaper shows up.  He’s dandy.  The fight is a combination of long- and short-range attacks while Pey’j plays the role of hostage.  It’s not too hard at all, and I beat him in one try.

p7We head down into the electrical room after that, fight off a few new robot pals, and snag ourselves some fuses.  All this to push a button and go up a flight or two.  Man, if this game reveals that there was a stairwell, I’mma gonna see red.

2 thoughts on “Beyond Good & Evil: Adventures in elevator maintenance

  1. Man I love love loved Beyond Good & Evil back in the PS2 days. I keep kicking myself in the butt because I always forget to pick up the HD update and then see reminders like this. Perhaps that will be my next purchase, finally. :)

Leave a Reply

