The Secret World: Headstands in the face of pure evil

headstandThis picture sums up perfectly the attitude of our Monday night TSW group.  We spent way too much time trying to coordinate headstands while the responsible members were actually doing something productive.

Anyway, good Secret World day.  I logged in early to tweak my build, and I came out with something that makes me a lot happier.  I dropped blade and my beloved Martial Discipline (oh, the heals/evades!) to slot hammer instead.  Hammer has a lot more synergy with shotgun, with the added bonus of making me look like I’m toting around a giant meat tenderizer.  I yanked some of my survival utility, leaving just my Turn the Tables heal and the auto-emergency Forged in Fire heal, but that freed up a few passives that I repurposed for strike/weakness combos.

So right now, all of my strike attacks inflict weakness due to a passive.  And there are plenty of other passives that proc when you trigger weakness, so I get some protection and damage boosts when that happens.  The best part is that this build is a lot more flexible when it comes to fights — my strike attacks are good against one-on-one targets, while Shotgun Wedding and my chainsaw Hurly-Burly attacks are perfect for tackling groups.

Our group spent the night messing around once more in Savage Coast’s lair.  We finished up the final quest from last week that was kicking our butts by doing a cheesy move that felt a little like a cheat.  Then we ran around killing stuff and collecting parts to assemble into bosses.  I like the idea of this, that you have to earn your boss fights by finding parts of them.  We ultimately constructed and defeated three different lair bosses, each of whom spit out six or so items (including purple boss pieces that we’re saving for a rainy day).

I really appreciate lairs for flexible group content.  Not all of us are on the dungeon train to nightmare town.  I like running normal and elite modes, but I feel no pressing urge to get into nightmares, especially with Tokyo around the corner.  Will the QL level go up then, I wonder?  And what will become to all of the gear people have been raiding and dungeon diving for?

I’m betting that Issue #8 will come next week, and with it scenarios, augments, and the Halloween update.  I’m crazy excited about all of that and have been saving up my AP to invest into a few augments when they drop.

6 thoughts on “The Secret World: Headstands in the face of pure evil

  1. I can’t wait to see the Halloween event, I wasn’t playing last year and it sounds like a blast.

    How many people do you need for lairs? Is it full groups of five, or can you run them with less?

  2. Did you write this blog while doing a handstand, I am so impressed!
    Any MMO with ‘walk on hands’ ‘emote’ yet?
    Or OMG Monty Python’s the ‘SILLY WALK!’…?

    Well must back work to go…

  3. FYI, I asked Joel about whether we’d be getting new tiers of gear in the future, and he said he wants to avoid that. They’re going to be adding other systems of progression instead, like augments. For now, 10.5 gear is as high as it’s ever going to get.

    Which makes me quite happy. Gear treadmills are lame.

  4. I’m very much looking forward to scenarios and augments myself. I recently completed my skill wheel and as far as I’m concerned that makes me “max level.” And in any game I play, once I hit max, I’m pretty much done. The gear grind has never been anything that interested me, even in games that have more than 8 dungeons at the endgame. But with new places to spend my SP and AP and new content that might even be unique each time I run it? I’m there!

    And in case you care, here’s what I had to say about the 1st Halloween event. Ironically enough, there’s a headstand picture in that post too ;)

Leave a Reply

