Standing Desk, week two

So a quick update on my standing desk and what I’m doing with it.

After a few days of using it at home, I decided it wasn’t really best suited for there.  I didn’t mind standing in the afternoon, but it just made evening gaming miserable.  Around 10pm, I just want to sit, thank you.

So I packed it up and moved it to work, and there it’s been a real blessing.  It works great with my laptop, and I got a gel pad to stand on.  That coupled with my shoes keeps my legs feeling just fine while I do my thing.

It’s better for work too because I am a lot more mobile at church, going to and fro.  I have sofas and chairs in my office if I do need to sit, but I am really liking standing to do my reading, writing, and other day-to-day projects.  I’ll tell you one thing, you don’t mess around as much when you’re doing work standing.  There used to be a danger of just wasting time surfing or farting around on email, and now I’m like BAM!  Get this done.  BAM!  What’s next.

Plus, I take a lot of little walking breaks so that I’m not just standing in one place for the entire time.  I don’t know what it’s doing for my health, but I definitely feel more motivated and energized, and I’m getting a lot more done.  I’m most productive in the first half of the day anyway, so this is great.

4 thoughts on “Standing Desk, week two

  1. Used to have an elevating desk at work (in Denmark), Tired of sitting,.. touch of a button and now you could stand up and work! Those were the days…fixed desks and very uncomfy chairs in Argentina!

  2. A standing desk would have been good to have when I was working. Of course it is impossible to take those after lunch cat naps when you are standing.

  3. Sounds like you may have not given it enough time (“After a few days of using it at home”). You may need at least a month to really make it work. In the beginning I had to take 20-30 min breaks every couple of hours, but I’m over 2 years in now and I can game standing the entire evening with no problem. For me it’s been great because if there’s one thing that causes wrist/shoulder/back pain for me it’s gaming. Standing has gotten rid of all of that — no more pain at all. It’s great.

Leave a Reply

