Too much to play, too little time

scopeYou ever have one of those periods where the entertainment scales tip from “nothing to play” to “in my groove” to “holy crap I want to play everything right now?”  The latter is me at the moment.  There’s just so much that’s interesting me right now to where I’m almost paralyzed with indecision.

Lord of the Rings Online has captivated me with the fun that is my Lore-master.  It’s been a while since I last played her, and after getting reacquainted, it all came back to me in a flash.  The pets, the crowd control, the bizarre dual wielding.  The fact that she’s my first character who’s going through the newly streamlined Moria adds to the compulsion.  So far I’m really liking the quest flow and progression, although I am resigned to the fact that I’ll have to put her back on hold when Helm’s Deep comes out next month.

Then there’s Fallen Earth, which has quickly gone from a little experiment to see if I still have feelings for the game to a full-on obsession.  I really missed the crafting and the world, and even though everything in the game moves at a snail’s pace in the beginning, I keep wanting to log in and spend another half hour here and there.  I finally found a clan to join, which was more of an issue that it seems to be in other MMOs.  I just never see clans recruiting in the chat channels, and someone told me that they’re very insular and elitist now.  Fortunately, I think I fell in with some good folk who made a point of saying that they’re about supporting each other and putting on fun group activities.

Guild Wars 2 just dropped its Halloween patch, so that’s another big attraction.  I got some time in with it last night, did the new opening quest, and joined up with the massive zerg in the labyrinth for a kill-fest.  Man, that brings back memories of last year and it was quite relaxing to just go with the flow and enjoy the scenery.

I couldn’t wait for the tablet version, and so I picked up The Wolf Among Us last night.  Telltale Games has become one of my favorite studios after putting out The Walking Dead and Back to the Future: The Game, and I knew I wouldn’t be disappointed with this.  It’s an adventure game based on the Fables comics, and boy is it one of the best-looking games I’ve seen.  I love the comic-style art design and color choices, and the return of tough decisions that must be made quickly is welcome.  Only the first episode is out so far, so I should pace myself… but I probably won’t.

I’m also squeezing in Hearthstone matches here and there, trying to stay on top of my dailies for that precious, precious gold.

And if The Secret World drops its Issue 8 soon?  I’m going to be in serious trouble.  Thank goodness WildStar isn’t coming out this year.  I’d have to give up sleep.

6 thoughts on “Too much to play, too little time

  1. For me it’s ‘I have too many games to choose from to play and I don’t really want to play any of them’. Since FFXIV came out that was the only thing I wanted to play, now I am getting a little bored of that, I feel myself floating back to LotRO (and even giving a thought to maybe getting Helms Deep after all) to even thinking about maybe trying GW2 again, Also I did get Heavy Rain for the PS3 last night and I would like to play Beyond Two Souls, also what about the other 20+ games for the PS3 I have bought over the last few weeks… uughhhh, it hurts my brain to try and think about them all.

  2. Lore-masters *are* great to play, so I can’t blame you there. Play as much out of her now you still can! (Okay, this is totally not an biased advice and totally not given by a lore-master main enthusiast at all!).

    ~ Lore-master Ravanel ;-)

  3. I think this is a situation all hardcore gamers find themselves in sooner or later. I’ve still got the expansion for Dragon Age: Origins to play through, I’ll soon be reactivating my WoW sub to beat up Garrosh, and issue #8 of TSW is coming out soon. And I’m still trying to figure out when I’ll get back to Neverwinter or try the new gunslinger class in Aion.

  4. I was fine with not bothering with the GW2 Halloween stuff but then they mentioned a harvestable candy corn node for your home instance…can’t pass up on any way to customize that place.

  5. “holy crap I want to play everything right now?” is the only one I am familiar with. FFXIV endgame and crafting has me snookered as does a desire to replay The Wolf among Us, buy Beyond: Two Souls, play more 7 Days to Die, pokemon Y on it’s way from an internet order and about half a dozen PS+ freebies I still want to get cracking in. Oh, and Persona 3 portable, Atlier Totori on my Vita.

  6. By coincidence I am also levelling a Lore Master though Moria at the moment and enjoying the experience. Being so far behind the end cap most of my play is solo by necessity although I do get the occasional group invite. I have to say that in general I like what Turbine have done with the game. They have added a tonne of quality of life enhancements since I played last (like getting a free goat from an early Moria quest) and not all of them are cash shop driven.

Leave a Reply

