Heroes of Might and Magic III: The do-over

(This is part of my journey playing through Heroes of Might and Magic III.  You can follow the entire series on the Nostalgia Lanes page.)

wavy1Well after my embarrassing (and short-lived) foray into a main campaign, I was kindly informed by readers that I had jumped into a mid-level campaign instead of the kiddy wading pool where I belonged.  In my defense, the mid-level one was listed first.  So let’s try this again, shall we?

I jump into the Restoration of Erathia, which informs me that I’m a princess coming home after her father died to try to hold his kingdom together.  I feel guilty I wasn’t there for dad’s death, and then I remember that I’m not this person and it wasn’t my fault that she was off on a sunset cruise or something.  I’M SO SORRY DAAAAAD!

wavy2It’s always fun to play catch-up when your homeland has been invaded by the “Dungeon Overlords.”  Wow, great creative naming in this game, devs!

I’m playing as Christian, a level 1 Knight, who starts out with a town and a very modest army.  Time to get a-plundering!

It is a relaxing start, I’ll admit.  We horse up and go on a Sunday drive around the countryside, picking up goods, claiming sawmills for the greater glory of Whateveria, and scattering enemies before our mighty spears.  I stay in range of my town so that I can pick up the new batch of troops when they come online next week.

wavy3So far, so good.  Week two rolls around and I upgrade my posse.  My Knight is level 3 already and on his high horse (although that’s the default setting — I can’t get him to walk around like a normal Joe).

wavy4We spend the better part of the second week in a ship picking up the random goods that are lying about the ocean.  A shipwrecked sailor even gives me the Badge of Courage, but I throw it back to him because I got bored of that book after writing a report on it in the 7th grade.

I keep forgetting to pause during each turn to go back to my city and continue to build new structures.  I need to get in the habit of that.  I also recruit a witch hero because I think Captain Christian and his Mystery Boat will be sailing the seven seas for a while.

2 thoughts on “Heroes of Might and Magic III: The do-over

  1. You’ll generally want to have at least 4+ heroes basically at all times — you may have noticed that the campaign screen said something like “Your best four heroes will move on into the next scenario.”

    It lets you collect the resources on the map faster, lets you ferry units from town to your main army, and makes it easy to get the weekly resources from Water Mills and such.

Leave a Reply

