The Secret World: Changing majors

SARCIt’s an exciting week for The Secret World.  We’ve been enjoying the Halloween content, but the real anticipation’s come from the imminent arrival of Issue 8.  Scenarios and augments have a lot of folks buzzing.  I’ve been keeping my SP and AP near the max in preparation for it.  I hope that the scenarios will have a lot of replay value, because that’s what Funcom’s pitching them as.  If I have to grind out lots of these to improve my skills, then at least they should be entertaining.

I’m a little torn on augments, however.  On one hand, I’m all for more avenues of character growth and progression.  Being able to tweak out and customize your skills is a welcome notion.  But man, Funcom doesn’t sound like it’s going to make it easy.  I can just imagine a cackling, zany-eyed dev going, “The skill wheel is too EASY!  Too SIMPLE!  We need something to break their MINDS!  I don’t know why every last word I say in a sentence is in all CAPS!”

So we’ll see.  At worst, it’ll be busy work to keep us occupied until Tokyo arrives and it’s very group-friendly.  More things for groups to do together that isn’t just another dungeon run gets a thumbs-up from me.

On another note, Yeti’s changed her Argartha University major.  On Monday night out group was doing a few runs of the Cat God nightmare mode for its sweet, sweet purple drops.  The last run of the evening coughed up a 10.1 elemental talisman, and since no one needed it, I greeded and won it.

This turned out to be fortuitous, because (a) I have no purple weapons yet, (b) elementalism has nice strike synergy to go with my shotgun build, and (c) I have most of the elemental wheel fleshed out due to pursuing the Magus outfit a while back.  Seriously, it was like I was preparing for this moment and I didn’t know it.

So while my passive build didn’t change much, I swapped out my hammer actives for a handful of new fiery magic.  I’ve been test driving it in Egypt as I’m cleaning up all of the missions I missed when I skipped half of the zone, and so far it’s going great.  I love the feeling of more long-range damage, and the increased DPS is very welcome.  It’s kind of nice to be roflstomping all over these mobs that used to give me such problems.

Bring on Issue 8.  Me and my fire hands are totally ready for it.

5 thoughts on “The Secret World: Changing majors

  1. Elem/Shot rocks! On LoneStarBelle last night, I was laying waste in Cat God with Mogsy and some other KoMies, thanks to purple weapons and 3 manifestations. They’re like dropping all the Shaman fire totems at once.

  2. My current dps build is pistol/elemental and I’m quite enjoying it. I’ve also got an AR/Elemental build as well for if I need a bit more range. Works very well, though some of those cast times. . . . . . Guess they really were going for the “you’re a mage in another MMO” feel for Elemental,

  3. Ele/Pistol is how I’ve rolled since Day 1. More than anything, it’s just a ridiculously fun combo to play. Every crit gives me more crit chance and drops an afflict which gives penetration. Then I drop a few AoE manifestations, which pump up my offense, couple it with the Big Bang passive, which adds a mini-AoE to every pulse, and groups fall quick. For single targets, with Anima Charge and passive, Blaze and it’s passive, it’s easy to string crit-fireballs, too.

    So yes, welcome to Elemental.Burn them all!!

  4. I spent most of my “leveling” time with Pistol/Shotgun, building weaknesses and buffing teammates. Very badass, though I am not sure of the actual DPS lol.

Leave a Reply

