Gaming bits and bytes

starboundAnyone else having a hard time dealing with the time change?  For the past few days I keep dropping into bed early and waking up too early, and I can’t seem to change it.  Anyway, here’s a few random gaming thoughts for a Thursday morning:

With the Starbound beta starting up soon, I felt comfortable plunking down $15 for my pre-order.  That’s a nice price, considering it gets you beta access, the game itself, and the soundtrack (the latter which you get immediately).

Tiny Death Star dropped on the app store last night, so it was kind of a no-brainer to pick it up.  Sure, it’s mostly a re-skinned Tiny Tower (by the same studio in cooperation with LucasArts), but that’s not bad; they’re two flavors that go well together.  In addition to the cute pixelized Star Wars characters and settings, there’ve been a few tweaks to the standard formula that I’ve seen so far, such as collectable cutscenes, more background animations, and missions.

Neverwinter continues to be a strange compulsion with me as of late.  Last night I finally pushed past the furthest I’ve ever been in the game, and I’m not feeling any urge to slow down.  Maybe I finally found a class that clicks with me, or I just need an MMO that’s not too taxing on the brain.  Follow the sparkly trail, kill kill kill, collect lewtz.  I ponied up for a ghost companion, and I totally love her.  Well, friend-love at least.  She not only does some ranged damage, but she’ll possess a minion and turn it against the bad guys before killing the husk.  A rogue and his ghost.  That should be a book.  Hm.

One thought on “Gaming bits and bytes

Leave a Reply

