WildStar Watch: HOVERBOARDS

hoverboardSo I’ve been struggling with a small dilemma as of late, which is how to deal with my anticipation regarding WildStar.  It’s a struggle between not wanting to think about it at all, because that makes the wait even longer, and wanting to talk about it a lot, because the build-up to launch is always exciting and I feel like I’m letting that slip by.

I came up with a compromise: I’m going to devote a post on Monday mornings from now on to jawing about whatever strikes my WildStar fancy.  And I’m calling it WildStar Watch, but you already know that because it’s looming up there in its 80-point font glory.

Carbine’s starting a series going through each of the classes and giving them a more in-depth look, one per week, which will take us through the end of 2013.  First up for last week was the Warrior, a class that always has limited appeal to me — and that isn’t going to change here.  The wrestler attitude isn’t a huge draw for my personality, and although I have to admit that an arm cannon and a huuuuge sword do constitute a nice armory, I’m going to be holding out.  Right now I’m going back and forth between the Engineer and Spellslinger for my main, but I’ll wait until all of the weeks are done.

However, hidden in the disclaimer section of the dev speak video were a bunch of clues that led the players to another video, this one showing a new surprise for the game: hoverboards.  Insert Back to the Future Part II reference here.

I’m instantly, “yes please!” because BTTF2 is my favorite of the trilogy and I’ve had a hoverboard crush since first seeing it in 1989.  The WildStar video only shows off a few brief seconds, but it looks like this is a vehicle that not only goes fast, but allows for some nice jumps with gliding.

It may just be trappings and semantics, but the sci-fi bent of WildStar is a major draw for me.  It’s not just that I’m tired of fantasy (I’m not, actually), but that there’s so much that can be done with sci-fi above and beyond what we see in sci-fi’s more popular sibling.

So here’s a thought.  With housing and all that, could I make a skate park on my property?  If not, I really should.  Get on that, Carbine.  Tony Hawk in Space, out.

4 thoughts on “WildStar Watch: HOVERBOARDS

  1. I’m not exactly bored with the fantasy genre yet, either, but I have to admit that I am really excited about a game with something different, and I don’t mean game play. I like the mix of sci-fi this game has.

    And hoverboards? Yay!

  2. I was board with the fantasy genre, but have taken a break for over a year and a half from MMO’s because they all were fantasy.
    So now WoW has renewed my interest, but Wildstar has a lot of potential too.
    Sci-Fi though completely allows more options for creativity.

  3. Hahaha… a pink Barbie hover board. At least the Pit Bull has spikes and is painted black and red.
    Thanks for writing about Wildstar, like you I am hesitant to jump on the hype train. At this point I am not sure if the features justify a subscription.

Leave a Reply

