WildStar: Back to engineering school

engineerI kind of have a severe weakness for any MMO that offers an Engineer class, most notably Warhammer Online and Guild Wars 2.  I just like the “Mrs. Fix-It” mentality, the jury-rigged items, the blue collar smackdown, and the emphasis on turrets and gadgets.  So there’s a very small probability that my main in WildStar won’t be the newly revealed Engineer.

Let’s see what we’ve got:

  • A pet class with a stable of robot pals (names: Servo, Crow, Gypsy, and Cambot)
  • The choices of DPS and tanking
  • Ranged weapons
  • Heavy armor
  • A giant mech suit for special occasions

Seriously, the only thing I’m concerned about is that Carbine’s making this class sound too awesome and that it’ll be over-populated.  But whether it is or not, it sounds great for me.  I can’t resist pets, not ever.

The tanking aspect of the Engineer kind of caught me by surprise, however.  In my experience, Engineers are usually support classes, but here they have that option to be the bulwark in group runs.  I’m fine with that — really, thanks for the heavy armor — but it’ll be a little bit of a learning experience since I’m not usually a tanking kind of guy.  I’ll probably be playing Mordesh, since most of my friends are going Exiles.

I’m going to have to ponder what my Engineer’s path will be, however.  Both scientist and settler seem like good matches, at least thematically.  I’m leaning toward settler at the moment, however.

So that’s the WildStar lineup: Warrior, Spellslinger, Esper, Stalker, Medic, and Engineer.  Spellslinger is tempting as a secondary class, and from there my preferences in descending order go Medic, Esper, Warrior, and Stalker.  But that all could change when I actually get in the game and test drive these for real.

5 thoughts on “WildStar: Back to engineering school

  1. Looks like it’s still gonna be a Cassian spellslinger for me. I like engineers as a general rule, but this one lost my interest as soon as I heard it was about tanking and pets. No thanks.

  2. Tanking: why not. Pets? Hmm. Oki.

    In the unlikely case that i start to play Wildstar, the engineer indeed migth be an option.

  3. @Tyler, don’t forget about the Limited Action Set, so if you don’t want pets, don’t use pets. Don’t want to tank, don’t tank. About 40 abilities, you should be able to find lots of combos of pure direct damage skills!

Leave a Reply

