Mandy the Christmas Whale

So I need a solid from all of you awesome guys and gals.

This morning, I was showing my toddlers some animal tracks outside and asked them what animal they thought made the tracks.  My son promptly answered, “Whale!”   And when life gives you whales, you immediately conjure up a brand-new holiday tradition.

“Yes,” I said.  “That was from Mandy the Christmas Whale!”

So for the uninformed, Mandy is the world’s only red-and-green whale (who also has jingle bells on her tail).  When it snows near Christmas, she will swim through the snow to deliver cookies and chocolates to good little boys and girls.  She reaches through their windows while they sleep and leave the yummies on their dressers.  Oh, and if it doesn’t snow where kids are at, kids can put out some ice cubes or snow cones, and Mandy will appear that night.

I’m currently working on a theme song for Mandy the Christmas Whale, perhaps with the lyrics, “She bakes up cookies for kids who are good / And delivers them right to your neighborhood” but it’s very much a work in progress.

My friend Amy heard of Mandy and quickly created a graphic of Mandy:

mandyMandy is the one on the left.

Anyway, if my kids ask, please back me up on this.  I’m trying to get a tradition going.  If you’re exceptionally bored and have better photoshop skills or have any other way to perpetuate the legend of Mandy the Christmas Whale, please do and let me know!

One thought on “Mandy the Christmas Whale

  1. This is a positive message…with a bit of warning and a suggestion.

    Older unimaginative kids, parents, strangers, and authority tend to frown on “new fantasy figures” that don’t follow the norm. I encountered this as an early child and going to kindergarten. Back then, invisible friends and make-believe stories were seen as abnormal and both the kids & parents were questioned and ridiculed. So try to ensure that everyone with whom your child will be in contact with knows where Mandy the Christmas Whale comes from…and negate any negative reactions. (My parents and I learned the hard way!)

    Make sure your children understand that “only those who believe in Mandy the Christmas Whale will be visited by Mandy”. Otherwise, once your kids start sharing this new found information with other kids/adults, they’ll get confused by conflicting information from others. And then you’ll have some very serious “damage control” to deal with!

    Other than that, this is a great idea and I’ll start spreading the Legend of Mandy the Christmas Whale with my relatives’ kids! -)

    TQQdles™

Leave a Reply

