Best of Bio Break 2013: Most anticipated MMO updates in 2014

best

The Best of Bio Break 2013 is a series of “end of the year” lists that talk about various forms of entertainment that I enjoyed this year.  They’re not awards, but they are ranked.  Each entry doesn’t have to be something that came out this year, but merely something I encountered this year.

img-big4For my final list and post of the year, I’m going to wrap things up by looking at my most anticipated updates for MMOs come the new year:

1. The Secret World: Tokyo

I.  Am.  Ready.  Heck, the entire playerbase is ready by now.  2013 was a great year of updates for TSW, with awesome and memorable story arcs, but we’re still in the same three areas that we were at launch.  It’s time to move on, and that will come when Funcom opens up Tokyo.  I really can’t wait for this — for more story, more conspiracies, and more answers.

2. LOTRO Housing Update

Turbine punted on this in 2013 after promising that they’d do it, so I’m going to hold them to that.  Also hoping we’ll be getting a new expansion as well.  Gondor time!

3. RIFT 3.0

I keep flirting with the idea of going back to RIFT, starting fresh and really getting invested in the game (and then I remember, oh yeah, WildStar).  But I’m somewhat interested to see what Trion has in store for the game’s second expansion, currently titled RIFT 3.0.  “Dreams, nightmares, and water” are the themes.

4. A post-Scarlet Guild Wars 2

Yeah, I’m pretty much disconnected from the living story right now, but the news that it’ll be ending after four more updates is reason to hope that the second “season” will vastly learn from the errors of the past and usher back in the fun and excitement of Guild Wars 2 that I enjoyed in its first year.

5. More Neverwinter classes

I know that the team is working on additional classes for the game, and I really hope we get them sooner rather than later.  I’d like to see a different type of magic user as well as another healer.  Bard?  Bard would rock.  I’d so be there if they did Bard.

4 thoughts on “Best of Bio Break 2013: Most anticipated MMO updates in 2014

  1. My biggest problem with Rift is the community.. I’ve been trying to get my original character up to 60, finally, and remembering how much I adore the game, especially since they’ve added so much since I played at launch. But I joined a guild that was full of douches.. left it for a friendlier one which died after a couple of weeks.. just can’t win! This is the problem when my fellow MMO gypsies all seem to be in a different timezone to myself. My EU buddies are still in WoW for the most part. :(

    Still, cant wait to explore Guild Wars 2, The Secret World, Rift, FFXIV, and Neverwinter on a gaming machine that won’t having a panic attack every time I try to load them.

  2. Rumour has it the next class for Neverwinter is going to be warlock, or maybe druid. I’m not greatly familiar with D&D’s take on those classes, but I imagine the warlock will involve fire. Maybe the druid could be a healer?

    I do agree that more healers and tanks would be welcome. I doubt I’d play them, but only having one option for each can’t be good for the health of the game. We’ve got four choices for DPS; the other roles need some love.

    I’ve already shared my thoughts on Tokyo. I can’t wait. Especially after that comment about how “no one will underestimate the Dragon” after Tokyo. My faction has been a tad neglected so far; it’s time to hear the Dragon roar.

  3. I believe data-mining all but confirmed that the next class would be the Hellfire Warlock, a semi-tanky mid-range dps/striker. So yeah, more dps unfortunately. I agree, we really need some love directed towards the other roles.

Leave a Reply

