Fallout: The water thief

(This is part of my journey playing through Fallout.  You can follow the entire series on the Nostalgia Lane page.)

v1So it’s only now, in 2014, that I realized that you can actually go back to Vault 13 in Fallout.  I just assumed that the vault kicked you out and locked the door, but I guess that’s not the case.  Let’s see what kind of trouble Betty can get into, shall we?

On the first floor, a doctor takes pity on me and gives me — yes, me, the chosen one, the savior of the vault, their very last hope for salvation — AN ENTIRE STIM-PACK.  Well good golly, hold me fast for I might faint with joy.

v2Dang but I love the world design of this game.  Check out the elevator panel!  Look at it!  It’s so retro-cool!

Everyone on the living quarters level is about as welcoming and appreciative of me as the folks in Shady Sands, which is to say that they treat me like a barely-functioning mouth-breather.

v3Don’t be down on Betty!  Betty trying the best he can!

v4The water guard on level 3 claims that someone hit him with a pipe.  Sounds like what I’d do, actually.  Well, keep on guarding with that severe concussion, dude!

v5The Overseer is freaking out that there is only 125 days left of water and I haven’t found the chip yet.  I try to tell him that if this quest is so important, why not mobilize the entirety of the vault to go out and search?  Why put the fate of this community in the hands of just one person who can only communicate via grunting?

But of course when I grunt this to him, he dismisses me.  Typical.

You know what?  If that’s the kind of help that I’m going to get, I’m going to help myself.  To the water.  ALL OF THE WATER.

So yeah, I steal 50 flasks of water from the vault.  I don’t feel bad about it, either.

One thought on “Fallout: The water thief

Leave a Reply

