LOTRO: Level 95 and hopeless

fightLast night I hit level 95 in Lord of the Rings Online with plenty of the expansion pack left to go.  This was mostly a non-event for me — new levels were nice, I suppose, but mostly right now because of extra trait points.  Still, it’s my first character to 95, so I suppose that merits a polite round of golf claps.

I’m still going to do all of the quests, of course, since there’s at least nominal gear upgrades and other forms of XP and some currency to be gained.  None of it is terribly exciting for me because LOTRO doesn’t do that great of a job making gear exciting.  As far as I know, all of the truly great stuff is fully tucked away in dungeons with a few items being tossed to crafters to shut them up.  But will I ever see a random drop that will be a huge upgrade?  Will a second or first age legendary item appear on an average mob?  Nope.

The LI thing particularly peeves me.  I’m just never sure how Turbine intends for us to pursue better LIs.  I haven’t found a vendor in western Rohan that will barter even third-agers for the tokens you get from quests, nevermind a second-age.  I know crafters can make second-age weapons, and I’m betting first-agers are the sole dominion of raids.  Of course, who knows what’s going on these days since Helm’s Deep eschewed new instances for a big battle system that only rewards jewelry (worst… rewards… ever).

Actually, now that I look it up, Lotro-Wiki says “After level 64, the only way to get a Second or First Age legendary item is through crafting or PvMP.”  That seems… short-sighted.

So I try my hardest to pretend that second and first age weapons don’t exist.  In truth, I don’t really need them to get through any of the PvE questing content.  My Captain is a Terminator, practically unstoppable in healing mode and wielding an axe-and-board.

I guess I could start crafting with her from scratch.  Lord knows I have the gold to spare.  It just rankles that there are so few avenues to get a good second-age weapon (and I never see them on the auction house).

Man I wish LOTRO would just get rid of legendary items altogether and move back to traditional gear.

15 thoughts on “LOTRO: Level 95 and hopeless

  1. As far as I know, you get Second-ager tokens either at the end of the Epic (oops, spoilers) or at the skirmish Barter vendor. But they have to be crafted. And at the moment, the extension is too recent (and some of the other components too rare) for Second Agers to pop at the AH. They will, eventually (e.g. when First Agers will be obtainable, and so Blue swords won’t be the cutting edge of technology)…
    As of Third-agers, they can be looted (either directly in game or at the AH), or (disclaimer: I haven’t checked if the 95 have correctly been added) at the Reforger in exchange for legendary shards.

    The good thing is that the Second Ager you get today will hopefully not be outdated by Fall, as Turbine announced that there would be no extension (thus, no level cap increase) this year…

    BTW, congratulations for your level 95. I hit mine on monday, with the same, how can I say? lack of enthousiasm as you, as I still have many things to do, and I’m starting to share the dream of some of my kinmates: no more level cap increase (as it sounds now feasible, with the new trait lines…)

  2. Gratz on 95…got 35 levels to catch up with you on my Cappy :)

    The whole legendary Weapon is a bit of a Joke really…they need to tighten it up (A LOT) or dump it ALL! Neither will happen in the near future…maybe it’s one of the things they will be doing next year instead of expanding…

  3. If Second Agers and First Agers dropped frequently that wouldn’t be exciting either because they’d be commonplace then, so it would be “meh” to get one, like getting a Third Ager is now.

    Maybe there is some sweet spot of rarity, where something is rare enough that it;s exciting, yet likely enough that it seems worthwhile to pursue. But that would probably be on a per player basis, something could be a rare occurrence for me but tediously commonplace for people that run many instances each week.

    But I quite like the general concept of LIs because it’s another layer of being able to customize your skills and stats to your individual playstyle. Some of the details of how they work as a pain in the neck though.

  4. But they don’t drop AT ALL, is what I’m saying. It’s not a question of rarity. I don’t think second or first agers exist in the loot tables outside of raids at all.

  5. Ok, I didn’t realize they don’t drop at all. Presumably the mats that are needed to craft them are the rare drops, and then you have to find a helpful crafter.

  6. I only solo, so the instance based things at 95 will leave me out in the cold. So I guess when I get 95 (I only started in Oct so with holidays my highest three alts are only 63, 50, 45 ) i shall shelve the poor guy and move onto an alt.

  7. I thought you recently joined one of the better guilds on Landroval? Which means you just need your symbol from the epic, an emerald shard, which is indeed a random crafting node drop, and breathe word of your desire in kin chat, and I would think you’d have a second ager within the hour. I’ve abandoned my weaponsmith since I don’t need her any more, or else I’d offer!

  8. Congratulations on hitting 95.

    I’m with you on the Legendary Items. These are long overdue for a makeover.

    I wish I could use a time machine to travel back to 2012 and hypnotize the developer who decided to revamp the trait system to convince him to revamp the Legendary Item system instead.

  9. I really liked the idea of LIs, I thought the concept was fun. But in reality they are more of an annoyance than anything else. I don’t have the time nor desire to make all the little tweaks necessary to get the “perfect” LI, not to mention pursuing second- or first-agers to the ends of Middle Earth. As a mostly solo or duo PVE-er, I don’t really need the top end stuff anyway I guess. There are definitely times I wish they didn’t exist.

  10. Legendaries as they were first announced are a brilliant idea. The current implementation is less than perfect, but they’re much better than they were when they came with Moria. As for First- and Second-Age LIs, if you’re not doing large group endgame content, you don’t really need them. At the moment, I’m running with general Third-Age items on my three capped toons, and I’m having few problems in the HD Battles/Skirm Raids/Instances that my kin is running. I have the things to make one or two Second-Age items, but I’m not feeling the press yet.

  11. It’s disappointing. Because during the last level cap I have done hundreds and hundreds of runs/instances and I very seldom receive the item that I am wanting from them. Yes, the marks and medallions are -slightly- rewarding but it’s not reward enough for all the trouble. The game has very much become a grind and I cannot enjoy it any more, I refused to do the same instances over and over again that I have done during the previous level cap. I have even less intentions of upgrading my gear, I am satisfied with my level 85 gear and I will leave it so until they decide to add some enjoyable/bearable content into the game.

  12. Huge whine again as usual. The game is the same as it’s been for over a year now, I dunno, instead of constantly complaining about changes and aspects that clearly aren’t going to be made, perhaps it’s time to say that you’ve outgrown the game, and simply move on. It’s quite tiring to constantly read people who have been playing the game for a few years sit in their old rocking chairs, arms folded, talking about back in the day etc. I played it last night. I’ve paled every night the last 10 nights. I hit 95 about a month ago. I haven’t finished the EPIC yet either. I did some epic battles with kin members and it was great!

    It really would be nice, just once, for the old, highly influential guard to recognize and reflect the continued and overwhelming enthusiasm for the game that still thrives among the vast majority of the LotRO community. Or just perhaps it’s better to write a manifesto as a kind of swan song, let Turbine know you won’t be coming back until it’s back to what it was like when you enjoyed it more than you do now?

    EORLINGAS!

  13. I agree that the LI system is a bit shortsighted. Either scrap it, or overhaul it so your weapon/item grown with you from level to level, cap to cap. This crap of scrapping the entire wardrobe AND weapon AND secondary item, AND jewelry ever time Turbine drops a new expack is tedious at best.

    Last I check Aragorn didn’t chuck The Flame Of The West at the beginning of each book/movie.

Leave a Reply

