LOTRO: A new path forward

room1Last night during a nice gaming session in LOTRO, I came to a few conclusions that I think will significantly shape my path going forward in the game.

The first conclusion was that my love for my Captain has grown faint.  I’ve been logging onto her out of duty, but it’s just not as much fun of a class to play as it once was.  Perhaps this is the Helm’s Deep class changes, but I think it’s more because I’ve just been playing it for so very long.

The second conclusion is that trying to balance my attention between two characters in this game is a little futile.  Even though I’m a fan of alts, splitting my time here seems a little counterproductive.  I really should be focused on just one character (another 2014 resolution: one character for each game), but the question is, which one?

The Captain makes the most logical sense: She’s my sole level 95, she’s got her virtues maxed out, she can plow through any solo content, and she’s in the best position to check out new content/zones when they’re added this year.

But my final conclusion is that I just sincerely like playing my Lore-master more.  My pets as a LM feel that they matter a lot more than my Captain’s heralds, and being able to do ranged damage means that I’m not spending the first chunk of any fight running up to someone.

room2So I sat back and gave it some thought.  Could I really abandon my Captain?  Sure I could, but if I did, would it be a long time until I got my LM up to the same spot?

I realized that I had an option here.  With the XP shield that came with the Helm’s Deep pre-order and plenty of rest XP, I think I can probably abandon all of the side quests and simply focus on the main storyline — at least for the time being.  If I can get my LM to 95 and get through the epic books, then I’ll be more or less where I need to be for future zones.  Plus, I won’t feel as though I missed out on the quests, since I’ve already done them elsewhere.

The matter settled, I started transferring everything over to my LM.  I scrapped my Captain’s house and bought a new Dwarf deluxe home with my LM, making it as cozy as the hook system would allow.

We will see how it goes, but I’m very optimistic.  I enjoy the epic storyline the best in this game anyway, and if I can just do that?  Perfect.  I’ll have to do some skirmishes, virtue grinding, or side questing if the epic quests start outleveling me, but with any luck that won’t be an issue.

8 thoughts on “LOTRO: A new path forward

  1. Another option or excursion (not that you need it) is to have 1 or more ~lvl 20 characters ready for the revamped North Downs, Trollshaws, and Misty Mountains (next update). For myself, that seems like it would be just the sort of diversion I need to stop logging in my creeps and feeding on freepie cookies.

  2. Was playing on my low (lv22) Lore master this morning…pasted everything that moved in Barrow downs! A bit too easy…
    I would have kept the Cappy in the wings and just concentrated on your LM…Lets see how it goes and am interested how challenging it is to just follow epics…
    And the rush for Lv95 …why?

  3. I’d be interested in your thoughts on the layoffs and LOTRO’s future, trying to keep it as drama-free as possible. My main character is much like your captain, maxed out and fully attained of my goals. I’m trying to level my new guardian through the Trollshaws (not my favorite zone) but I’m having motivational issues when I wonder if LOTRO’s future is in serious jeopardy. It’s hard for me to fight Sauron’s servants when I wonder if Mordor will even get made.

  4. My only concern for getting to 95/end game is because it’s part of my job at Massively to play and discuss the new content, which is usually at the level cap.

  5. I just cannot find myself getting into the Loremaster, for one reason or another. I’ve leveled 4 characters to cap: Runekeeper, Hunter, Champion, and Captain. Aside from the Champion which I just did due to inertia and not from actually enjoying the class; my enjoyment of the time played pretty much ran directly in line with how self-sufficient and survivable they are. I love hopping onto the hunter and laying waste from time to time, but that eventually pales. Throwing fire and lightning on the RK is fun also as a break, until I would start running into areas where I just got overwhelmed and swarmed to death, or tough enemies that could simply tear into my bathrobe-wearing flesh faster than I could heal myself. And in every case of that, I’d shrug, then pull out my Captain for fun and go destroy whatever it was handily. I think the squishies and I simply don’t get on, so my LM has been shelved. Probably doomed to languish eternally, just as my Mini has been, and I’m sure the Burg will be (in the doldrum of the 40s currently).

  6. Syp: The job made me do – I understand the necessity of level cap then :)

    Mightydarv: Have you tried recently with your squishy LM…they do splat lots before going splish, messy fun!

  7. Pingback: LOTRO: A Mere Stones Throw…And Squishy Splatter Nearly Splattered… | tsuhelm

  8. Pingback: Pulling me back in … | GamingSF

Leave a Reply

