WildStar: Breaking down the launch date and pre-order

ws1

I love that the box art has a Granok drinking a beer.

Huzzah!  Not only is today a snow day for me, but it’s the day that Carbine Studios has finally released the last big batch of info that we’ve been waiting for on WildStar: the release date, pre-order details, and edition info.  Got a lot to talk about here, so let’s dig in!

For starters, June 3rd will be the release date.  I think that was in the window that many of us were expecting — still technically spring, but pushing into summer.  While I’d love for WildStar to launch tomorrow, I’m not going to gripe too hard here for the less-than-three-months wait.  I think it’s a good time for the game to launch, giving it a good space after ESO’s April launch but well before the fall’s major releases.  Personally, I’ll have more time (I think) come the summer to play in general, so awesome.

Carbine also abolished the NDA today, which certainly speaks to the studio’s confidence in its product.  It wasn’t as if it was super-enforcing the NDA up to this point (the press has been able to talk about it for the most part for a while now, and I know the devs weren’t very keen on the NDA at all).  For good or ill, the conversation about the game can fully open up and I’m looking forward to just discussing the game back and forth with players.

ws2All right, so how about the purchase options?  I was a little surprised here with some of the choices, mainly what was left out and the fact that the special edition didn’t try to go for a plus-$100 package.  In a nutshell:

  • Standard edition is $60, and includes 30 days, three 7-day passes for friends, and a housing item.
  • Digital Deluxe edition is $85, and includes the above as well as an Eldan hoverboard, a costume, a player title, and a dye set.
  • Pre-ordering either edition gives early access starting on May 31, a rocket house, a mini-ship housing decoration, 10-slot inventory bag, and the ability to reserve character and guild names prior to launch.

I’m really flummoxed that there isn’t a bigger collector’s edition, unless that’s something that Carbine is finalizing right now (although that wouldn’t be a good thing if people want it but pre-order one of the other ones).  I guess my biggest disappointment is a lack of a soundtrack — WildStar’s score is simply one of the best I’ve heard in an MMO and I must have it.  My next hope is that it’ll be made available on iTunes/Amazon at some point (or, hey, given away for free).

These packages aren’t blowing me away but they aren’t bad, either.  My initial impression is that the pre-order bonuses are actually better than what we’re getting as bonuses in the editions.  The inventory bag isn’t something to sneeze at, and I’m all over that rocket ship house.  Plus you know how I am with being able to reserve my names (although we don’t have info yet how this’ll work — how many names can we reserve?  Will they be held to a specific server or across all servers?).  And starting three days early on what is coincidentally my birthday?  That’s the cherry on the top.

ws3I see no reason not to go for the digital deluxe edition.  It’s not that much more and, hey, spiffy hoverboard.  I’m already getting a hoverboard from the beta program, but it’s nice to have options.  The other items are… fine, I guess.  It’ll be nice to have them for each new character.

In any event, I am pumped!  This is my most-anticipated MMO for 2014 and I’m glad to finally have specifics about the launch and to get my pre-order in.  Now I just need to figure out what class/race/path combo I’m going to go for as my main.  The safe pick is engineer/human/settler, but I may be pushing myself out of my comfort zone to do esper/aurin/scientist for my initial run.

8 thoughts on “WildStar: Breaking down the launch date and pre-order

  1. Handily just before I plan on going away on holiday, allowing just enough time for me to sit back and bathe in the schadenfreude of whatever launch-time chaos ensues, smug in the knowledge that it that none of it affects me directly since I won’t be playing. At least, that’s my current position. If they do some open beta weekends and I try it that could always change, in which case it will be a highly irritating launch window just like it was when TSW launched right as I went away.

    Even for those of us not planning on playing ESO or WS it’s going to be a very interesting spring and summer. I’m fascinated to see how well they do and what effect they have on the MMOs I’m playing and the rest of the market.

    Also, I wonder whether Landmark will have launched (as in gone into non-wipe Open Beta) by then? I would guess either June or July for that. On the face of it the three of them appear to be aimed at different market segments but still…could to be a bit of a bloodbath.

  2. I’m still betting on an August launch for Landmark, but I might be in the minority for that. And yeah, it might be a very non-traditional launch, especially if open beta doesn’t wipe (de facto launch).

  3. Wow, that’s got to be one of the most generous pre-order packages I’ve seen. They could have put the majority of that in the digital collectors edition and probably gotten away with it. I’ve already got a costume and a hoverboard from beta, and I’m not a huge fan of the Eldan look, so I’ll probably just stick with the standard edition myself. Looking forward to finally making my Chua Engineer/Scientist permanent!

  4. Pingback: WildStar Release Date Announced | Gamers Sphere

  5. Do you know if Wildstar is going to do an open beta? I only pay full price for a game these days if it’s something I’ve gotten to try (and know I’ll like) or something I know I’ll be playing with friends. Otherwise, I wait until it goes on sale. Right now, Wildstar is in the “wait until it goes on sale” category, since I never got into beta and none of my friends are interested.

  6. No, it isn’t. Even the closed beta testers are getting kicked out and restricted to the beta weekend events once the pre-orders go live. They may or may not be giving out extra keys to the events (i.e. not just pre-orders). Otherwise, your best bet is to find someone who has the game to give you one of their 7 day friend passes once it launches.

  7. Bah, oh well, wait-for-sale it is then. Unless any of my friends suddenly decide they DO want to try a new MMO after all.

  8. Pingback: Weekend Wildstar Beta Round-up | MMO Gypsy – Wandering online Worlds

Leave a Reply

