Stuck to LOTRO with community glue

danceLast night I logged in to see one of our kinship members delivering his farewell speech to us, saying that he’d tired of the game and was quitting the kin for good.  That’s always a bit of a morale bummer, but for a kin as large as ours, it happens now and then.

Everyone was gracious about his departure and afterward there was an interesting discussion about what has kept us in LOTRO.  One guy said that when he previously quit the game, it was after marinating in the toxic atmosphere of forums (both official and fan).  I’m not surprised by this — as I’ve long said, going on the official forums is the quickest path to hating the game you love.  But this guy said that ultimately it was the community that encouraged him to return, and he’s glad he did because it reunited him with a game that he genuinely loved.

I don’t often see people in guild chat just stop to gush about their love for the game, but that’s what happened last night and it was such an uplifting experience.  Kind of a group therapy where we all shyly admit to the obvious — that no matter what anyone might say, this game is fun for us and we enjoy it a lot.  What we enjoy about it differed from person to person — some said the lore, some love the epic story, but others just enjoy the social aspect of the kin and our fun player events (such as a murder mystery party we’re throwing on Saturday).

For me it’s a mixture of all of those reasons plus a little bit more when I think about why I’ve stuck with LOTRO for so very long.  The community there has always felt special and helped me to bond with the game, because there’s something magical about being around folks who are enthusiastic about the game world and its IP.

I have been very fortunate to have been part of three welcoming, enthusiastic kinships over the course of my career in the game and I don’t see myself leaving any time soon, probably thanks to those bonds.

6 thoughts on “Stuck to LOTRO with community glue

  1. I stayed playing The Realm Online for 10 years due to that community…I know how your kinmate felt. People are playing UO for the same reason. Most any site/game that you bond with online is usually due to the community…even after the initial site/game has become old news and isn’t as “sparkly” as it was.

    Lonely Mountain Band…great kin and love their shows! -)

    TQQdles™

  2. Pingback: LOTRO: I Quote: ‘Heavily Cloaked Creativity Attracts Players For Bags Of Fun With Baby Ent, Not An April’s Fowl! | tsuhelm

  3. Hugses! A great community on Landroval and other servers too. But I found a home with the LMB.

  4. I have not logged in for 6 weeks now. LOTRO got moved off the solid state drive and archived. Ultimately, Herbigharo@Landroval will likely be decommissioned on Everquest Next launch day. I did not just up and quit suddenly on a wild hair. Just simply ran out of content and with no raiding introduced, no incentive to form lasting groups. Lastly, all of my RP partners and friends moved onto other games or offline. Currently, LOTRO has an aging cliquish community so that does not float very well with many incoming players who quits before making it out of Lone Lands. In the end, I may or not ever return. Such depends on rather Turbine releases new content and/or deliver on promises made over last several years.

Leave a Reply

