LOTRO Update 13 is blowing up my skirt, gentlemen

I’ve been chewing on the preliminary patch notes for LOTRO’s upcoming Update 13 this morning and finding the taste quite palatable.  It’s a good mix of quality-of-life improvements and much-needed content, and as a decent patch should have, it looks to contain something for everyone.

The revamps of three (!) lower-level zones is a pretty major feat in and of itself.  I probably won’t be leveling up a new character any time in the forseeable future, but I don’t begrudge the fixes for those who have gotten bogged down in the 30s and 40s.  Misty Mountains and Trollshaws in particular always irked me with how fragmented and non-intuitive they were.  That’s a shame, as they’re both visually striking areas that should have good quest flow to back it up.

Personally I’m most excited about the two new zones (lots of Ent play coming with them, too) and the improved mail system.  I take my time with zone progression, so I’m hoping to spread these and the attached epic storyline out for a couple of months at least.  Should get me to WildStar’s launch.  I am about ready to leave the Rohan/Isengard section of the game, considering that we’ve been here for years now, and both Gondor and Mordor await.

My Lore-master just got into Enedwaith in the epic story, so while she’s making progress she’s probably not getting up to the current story cap any time soon.  It is so dang nice to just focus on the main storyline, let me tell you.  I don’t feel cheated out of content either.

10 thoughts on “LOTRO Update 13 is blowing up my skirt, gentlemen

  1. I finished the epic and both new “zones” in about 5 hours, including 2 hours running around looking for 2 bugged quests and filing bug reports. There are only 3 ent session plays I’ve seen. Two have talking and one has combat. (I won’t spoil it any more than that.)

    You may be able to spread out the daily grind in Fangorn for a couple months, but the rest is easily done in half a day.

    I don’t want to discourage your enthusiasm, but you may want to temper your expectations. Perhaps then you’ll be pleasantly surprised. There are a lot of little good things in Update 13, but they may not quite add up to what you’re expecting.

  2. Good to know. And that’s fine, I have my LM leveling to keep me occupied if and when I’m done with U13.

  3. They be fixing Trollshaws! So good! One of the worst areas in an MMO ever in my opinion. So glad to see it get some love. I may actually have to go back in and play it once it’s out. Please don’t do something brash with this Turbine. Just make it more accessible and let the quest flow be better like you did with Everswim!

  4. I have plenty of characters to explore updated versions of the areas…in fact I was only yesterday HATING North Downs with my RK…Esteldin area is OK but elite Orcs drive me nuts as do the end of solo quests wall having fellowship quests!

    The inventory bag updates look VERY good :)

  5. I’m idly considering stranding my minstrel in Moria for a little while (Moria! Another region long overdue for an overhaul) and leveling something with a radically different playstyle (maybe a warden).

  6. As long as I can see Gandalf shatter Saruman’s staff, I’ll be happy. That guy needs to be knocked down a few pegs.

  7. yep, I like what I read of the prelims too… I’m guessing U13 won’t be till next week (based on their inclusion of talk about the Spring Festival in there).

  8. Inventory bags… basically this.

    I cant anymore.. is revolting go to mordor with this line of development, small fixes, small changes and that shitload of copy/paste material. probably the war-steed stays that piece of @#$% no review for models and enviroments.

    Time to leave.

Leave a Reply

